PDA

View Full Version : Creating software to plot real-time 2D basic graphs

Momergil
8th June 2011, 20:22
Hello!

I'm a engeneering student working in a project that, in the current moment, need to create a software that is capable of recieving real time data from a wireless module (such as Cinterion TC65i or u-Blox Leon) and plot it in a basic 2D real time graphic (exactly the same that we see in a cardiac monitor), where the X array will be time.

A professor here in the university suggested Qt to create the software, so I'm now in the part of learning how to use it.

But (and correct me if I'm wrong) I found that even using Qt I would still have to choose a graphic library (such as matplotlib, Cairo, Qwt and so on) to create the software. And I'm having difficulties in the issue of finding a graphic library or even software capable of displaying 2D graphics in real time (most of them plot just one figure at the end of the software, and that is useless for me) and, of course, it must be one that can be used with Qt. Gnuplot, for example, was capable of doing something like this, but I had problems in calling the software from my C software (not Qt), that means, when I was trying to call it to plot the graphic.

The second problem, though, is that even if I do find a graphic library capable of ploting real time graphics, I still don't know how to use it in Qt (yes, I'm a 0 level Qt user).

For example, searching in this Forum about the same problem, I found three other posts that deals with similar cases:

http://www.qtcentre.org/threads/41814-real-time-graph-plot

http://www.qtcentre.org/threads/31914-QFileSystemWatcher-with-a-Qwt-Real-time-plot

http://www.qtcentre.org/threads/18669-Best-way-in-Qt-to-plot-curve-per-real-time-reading

But nether of them show how do I call Qwt or other graphic library in the Qt environment. In fact, the most close that I found in explaining how to do something like what I need was in this post: