PDA

View Full Version : valueChanged signal not working with QSlider subclass

mlr
14th June 2011, 00:20
I am new to Qt and am having trouble getting the connect-SIGNAL-SLOT mechanism working. When I try to use the valueChanged signal with a QSlider subclass I get the error "No such signal SimpleSlider::valueChanged" on connect. If I try to do similar code with the sliderReleased signal connect returns true but the trace has the error message "QMetaObject::indexOfSignal: signal sliderReleased() from QSlider redefined in SimpleSlider" and my SLOT function never gets called. Below is my code. Please help.

#ifndef SIMPLESLIDER_H
#define SIMPLESLIDER_H

#include <QtGui>
#include "ui_simpleslider.h"

class SimpleSlider : public QSlider
{
Q_OBJECT

public:
SimpleSlider(Qt::Orientation orientation, QWidget *parent = 0);
~SimpleSlider();

signals:
void valueChanged(int value);
void sliderReleased();

private slots:
void valueHasChanged();

private:

};

#endif // SIMPLESLIDER_H

#include "simpleslider.h"

SimpleSlider::SimpleSlider(Qt::Orientation orientation, QWidget *parent)
: QSlider(orientation, parent)
{
bool retval = connect(this, SIGNAL(valueChanged(int value)), this, SLOT(valueHasChanged()));
retval = connect(this, SIGNAL(sliderReleased()), this, SLOT(valueHasChanged()));
}

SimpleSlider::~SimpleSlider()
{

}

void SimpleSlider::valueHasChanged()
{
QMessageBox::information(this, "SimpleSlider", "Value has Changed");
}

deyili
14th June 2011, 03:12
Singal valueChanged and sliderReleased have been declared in QSlider, so you shouldn't declare them again.

mlr
14th June 2011, 03:36
Thank you deyili. This solves the problem for the sliderReleased signal. I still have the error with the valueChanged signal that I get the error "Object::connect: No such signal SimpleSlider::valueChanged(int value) in simpleslider.cpp:6"

But now I can move ahead with my implementation.

deyili
14th June 2011, 08:02
you shoud code like this: