PDA

View Full Version : How to create finished executable?

Pyrrha
11th August 2011, 22:46
I know this is a noob question and that it's been asked before, but I am still stuck and I've been trying to get this to work for the past 6 days, so I'm resorting to asking here.

I'm relatively new to programming. I only know a little C++ and just started trying to learn Qt last week. I have a program (a stat point calculator for a game I play) that I wrote as a console application in C++ using Dev C++. That worked flawlessly. Then I installed QtSDK v1.1.2 with Qt Creator 2.2.1 and Qt libraries version 4.7.3, and I attempted to recreate it in a GUI form. This was also a success. When building and running it in Qt Creator, it looks and behaves as it should.

What I can't figure out is how to make an executable or package that I can distribute to others (fellow players who would like to use it). I understand the basic idea that Qt defaults to dynamic linking, and I guess this creates a software package that can be installed? I'm not sure, because I haven't figured out how to do this.

Ideally, I'd prefer a standalone executable for this program, which I'm also aware requires static linking. For the past 6 days I've tried uninstalling and reinstalling various version of Qt, mingw, Qt Creator, as well as the whole Qt SDK bundle, every combination of configure -static -release, mingw32-make, and other commands I got from tutorials, but nothing has worked. Everything I tried either isn't possible (because the tutorial was outdated and didn't apply to any versions I could get my hands on) or resulted in errors I couldn't figure out how to resolve.

Apparently I'm not the only one with this problem.
http://www.qtcentre.org/threads/43371-is-there-no-quot-configure-quot-file-in-qt-sdk-1.1.2