PDA

View Full Version : How can I: Know the class name of the caller...

TCB13
7th September 2011, 22:48
Hi,

How can I know the name of the parent class...
For instance I've a class called "class_a" and I've to classes "class1" and "class2" calling it, but I need to change the output a little bit to fit the situation.

I've tired *parent but I'm not really understanding how to do it.

Thanks.

wysota
7th September 2011, 22:55
Is it a Qt question or a C++ question? And by "parent class" do you mean a "super class" or a "parent object class"?

TCB13
7th September 2011, 23:28
Is it a Qt question or a C++ question? And by "parent class" do you mean a "super class" or a "parent object class"?

Well... both... I'm new to this QT/Classes stuff ;)

Anyway I need to know in the "class_a" code the name of the class who's calling it...

wysota
7th September 2011, 23:50
Well... both... I'm new to this QT/Classes stuff ;)
It's not both. These are two completely different things, you need to be able to distinguish them to be able to explain what your problem is. Otherwise how can you expect anyone to help you?

Anyway I need to know in the "class_a" code the name of the class who's calling it...
So you want the class name of the caller, I guess. You can't know that if you're already in the called function. If the caller was the parent object of the callee, then you could go through Qt's parent() method but it won't work in a general case.

TCB13
8th September 2011, 00:09
Hi,

It's not both. These are two completely different things, you need to be able to distinguish them to be able to explain what your problem is. Otherwise how can you expect anyone to help you?

Yes... you're right I asked it too fast it's really a C++ classes question, but I'm looking for a way to do it using QT.