PDA

View Full Version : Bytes are lost when sending data from C socket to QTcpSocket

craigt
8th September 2011, 15:27
Hi.

I'm developing a client/server architecture which opens files on a client machine, sends them to a server which does some number crunching and returns a new data type back, 1 for each file received, which is then written to file by the client. I've been struggling with bytes disappearing on the return connection (separate socket to the sending connection).

All components are currently on a Linux x86_64 platform.

I'm not an expert on network programming by any length so I've revise this design many times but I've been unable to iron out the problem. The data structure being sent back (called ARD) is similar to a BMP image. It consists of a fixed size header which contains a bunch of info about the data including dimensions of a matrix of 32 bit floats. The matrix is then follow by a string which is for general commenting purposes. The offset and length of the string are stored in the header.

The socket on the server side is a normal C type socket (sys/socket.h). The server is not a Qt app, its normal C++ command line. The client side is a Qt GUI app so I'm using QTcpSocket which belongs to a non-GUI thread.

Currently the behavior is quite random. I can successfully get and random number of files back, up to a maximum of about 30 consecutively when things are going well. But at some point I will see corruption of the incoming header and the process comes to a holt as I need to dynamically assign space for the matrix which will now be some random number. This suggests to me that bytes are going missing in the stream which shouldn't really happen in a properly implemented TCP connection.

The sending function of the server is as follows:

int& operator<<(int& sock, Ard& ard)
{
//Set socket fd to blocking mode (Sockets from Qt API are non-blocking by default)
int i = fcntl(sock, F_GETFL);
i = ( i & ~O_NONBLOCK );
fcntl ( sock, F_SETFL,i );