PDA

View Full Version : Deleting children of a widget

ComServant
24th September 2011, 03:06
I have a QScrollArea and a QWidget in it, and I don't want to delete the widget, but I want to delete all the children and the layout in the widget. What is the official Qt way of doing that?

wysota
24th September 2011, 19:59
There is no official way. Just delete the objects you don't want.

6th October 2011, 05:26
What? I am very new to Qt and am having trouble trying to understand the layout model (thats why I came here). But anyway from my initial research cant you do the following (C++) letting x be a widget with so called "children", y being a pointer to such a child widget:

x->layout()->removeWidget( y );

?

Added after 1 11 minutes:

Oh excuse me. I had assumed "layouts" were the only mechanism for adding "children" to a QWidget. But since QWidget extends QObject and QObject is some sort of node like object theres two mechanisms by which a QWidget can have children, or at least a type of descendants (Why did Qt feel the need make Qlayout a damn container then? Seems Bazaar...). And there does not appear to be any mechanisms for removing children directly. On reading the QObject docs it seems like the method suggested by wysota *is* the official method (http://doc.qt.nokia.com/4.7/qobject.html):

"QObjects organize themselves in object trees. When you create a QObject with another object as parent, the object will automatically add itself to the parent's children() list. The parent takes ownership of the object; i.e., it will automatically delete its children in its destructor. You can look for an object by name and optionally type using findChild() or findChildren()."

So you want to do: delete x->layout()

wysota
6th October 2011, 08:54
As far as I remember, deleting a layout doesn't remove child widgets from the widget since the layout is not the parent of child widgets inserted into the widget the layout manages.

6th October 2011, 10:43