PDA

View Full Version : Mouse grabbing - Question for experts

jfmartel
20th October 2011, 08:24
Hi you all Qt experts of the world.

I have some experience in Qt yet but all is self instructed. So far I always succeeded to find all I needed in the very extensive Qt library and I am very happy. But now for the first time I am caught in a small hitch that I thought some more experienced programmers could help me with.
I Use Qt embedded under linux on an ARM with a touch screen.

Situation:
I want to create a scroll list that is scrollable with the finger, like the songs list of an Iphone or Ipod touch. I use Graphics View framework.
Each entry of my list is a custom object derived from QGraphicsItem. So far so good. I already implemented everything with a button to scroll up and down and it works fine. Now I want to change it for finger scrolling. If you click on an item of the list it sends a message to play a song.

What I did:
I created my own QGraphicsWidget derived widget that is invisible but covers the scrollable area of the screen, it's called CMouseScrollerWidget. This widget was programmed to catch mouse events, manage the scrolling and forward the position of the mouse (in scroll mode) to the parent item so it can then scroll the list. That works.

What is the problem:
My problem appears when the user only click-and-release an item of the list to select it (to start a song for instance). What happens is that the CMouseScrollerWidget grabs the mouse because it's got no other choice. If the user releases without moving the mouse there is no way for the list item widget to receive the MouseReleasedEvent because the mouse is grabbed by CMouseScrollerWidget. I tried a lot of things and even if I call ignore() there is no way of propagating the MouseReleaseEvent to the other widget under the mouse.

Now: