PDA

View Full Version : How to save Qstring from QTableView

wodzu-96
23rd October 2011, 16:01
Hello
I have been writing in qt for 2 months, so I am green and I have one problem. I want to save every cell of table ms sql in QString. I use driver QODBC. This is what I've already written:

QString *copy;
copy=new QString[20];
QItemSelectionModel *selectionM = ui->tableView->selectionModel();
QModelIndexList selectionL = selectionM->selectedIndexes();
selectionL.takeFirst();
for (int h=0; h<20; h++){
copy[h] = model->data(selectionL.takeFirst()).toString();
}
QMessageBox::information(this, "Kopiowanie", copy[1]);
When I want to open this function in the program which I have written there appears a notification about the error : ,,This application has requested the Runtime to terminate it in an unusual way." Thanks in advance and I count for a simple explanation

d_stranz
23rd October 2011, 22:00
That error is the standard Microsoft message and tells you nothing except that your program has a fatal runtime error. Running a release build of a program cannot help you solve runtime errors.

You first need to build a debug version of your application and run it in a debugger. Set a breakpoint on the first executable line of your code above, then step along until you see where the error occurs. My guess is that your selection model pointer is probably NULL, and when you use the NULL pointer to get the selectedIndexes() the program crashes. You are also using a variable called "model"; if this is NULL, using it to call the data() method will also cause a crash.

ChrisW67
24th October 2011, 03:07
... or the selectionList is empty and you are blindly executing takeFirst() (line 5 and 7) which assumes that the list is not empty. If you do not want the removed value returned then removeFirst() is the function for you (line 5).
... or there are not 21 selected items in the list and you exhaust the list before you reach the end of the loop. See above.