PDA

View Full Version : QListWidgetItem row id

Kyosaur
24th October 2011, 10:15
Hello, i recently made this same exact post over at another Qt based forum, but went 7 hours without a response. In my opinion this is far to long for what seems to be a simple question, so i decided to give this forum a shot instead. Dont get my wrong, im fine with a little wait, but 7 hours for this particular question is unacceptable in my eyes (especially since it was my first post).

Im gonna quote my old topic instead of re-writting it. Hopefully you guys will be of more help (this community certainly does give off a more professional aura).

First of all, hello everyone :). I just registered here! Im very excited to have other Qt lovers around to learn from (im still a bit new to Qt, so there's gonna be a lot of questions aha).

Anyways Is there anyway to get a QListWidgetItem's row value? I need its place in the List, but i dont want to do a pointless loop like:

QListWidgetItem *selected = m_Formats->selectedItems().first();
for(int i = 0, l = m_Formats->count(); i < l; i++)
{
if(m_Formats->item(i)->text() == selected->text())
{
//i = selected's index pos!
}
}

if i dont have to. Is there a member function that i might've missed that does this?

Thanks!

nix
24th October 2011, 10:34
QListWidgetItem *selected = m_Formats->selectedItems().first();
int row = m_Formats->row(selected);

Kyosaur
24th October 2011, 10:43
You are awesome nix! Thanks a lot man, this was exactly what i was looking for, it even solved a crashing issue i was having lol.

+Rep and "+thanks" lol.

rqi115
25th October 2013, 04:49
sorry.. i'm newbie on qt and c++, what's the meaning about "m_formats"?

thats QString or something? hehe , thank you for your attention :D

ChrisW67
25th October 2013, 05:14
"m_Formats" is the name of a QListWidget instance in the OP's class. The "m_" prefix is a frequently used naming scheme for member variables.