PDA

View Full Version : Example code doesn't match help provided

norman1312
31st October 2011, 16:47
As a complete beginner to Qt, I have Qt Creator installed. The main screen gives a very simple example of how to create and then extend a simple application. The only problem I have is that when I follow the instructions I get a 'Hello World' application that bears no relationship to the example being explained, and the remaining instructions are just meaningless.
I would like to see the code that generates squares with Qt in it, but the example doesn't do that.
I have a background in C, I have been learning C++ for a while. I have Visual Studio 2010 C++ Express that does some of what I want, but the full .NET application seems unduly complex (and I couldn't afford a license, in any case). This is why I am looking into Qt, and it would help to have some help that actually matches the code that is generated.
Can someone please point me in the correct direction?
(I am only interested in desktop applications at this time)

stampede
31st October 2011, 19:19
Can someone please point me in the correct direction?
It will be difficult, because, personally, I think your post is too general and quite confusing. I guess this could be a good starting point : http://qt.nokia.com/learning/online/training
Be more specific, then it'll be easier to help.

norobro
31st October 2011, 20:35
In addition to stampede's link, you might try this:

Start Qt Creator.
Select "Getting Started"
Next to "Explore Qt C++ examples:", click on the "Choose an Example" combo box.

You should get a popup menu with the list of example projects. I don't know which example "generates squares with Qt in it". Maybe Animation Framework -> Animated Tiles? Although you should probably start with something simpler like Widgets -> Digital Clock.

HTH
Norm

ChrisW67
31st October 2011, 21:22