PDA

View Full Version : Where does VS save its inviornment vars?



high_flyer
1st February 2006, 11:43
Hi,

I am trying to istall the qtwin patch from http://sourceforge.net/project/showfiles.php?group_id=49109
However, when I reun the qconfigure script I get the following error:

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Dokumente und Einstellungen\dkish>cd C:\Programme\Microsoft Visual Studio 8\C
ommon7\Tools

C:\Programme\Microsoft Visual Studio 8\Common7\Tools>vsvars32.bat
Setting environment for using Microsoft Visual Studio 2005 x86 tools.

C:\Programme\Microsoft Visual Studio 8\Common7\Tools>cd \Qt\4.1.0

C:\Qt\4.1.0>qconfigure
You must specify the compiler to use:
qconfigure {g++/msvc/msvc.net/msvc2005/borland/bccx} [options]

C:\Qt\4.1.0>qconfigure msvc2005

This is the Qt/Windows Open Source Edition.

You are licensed to use this software under the terms of
the GNU General Public License.

Type '?' to view the GNU General Public License.
Type 'y' to accept this license offer.
Type 'n' to decline this license offer.

Do you accept the terms of the license?
y
Environment:
INCLUDE=
C:\Programme\Microsoft Platform SDK\Include
C:\Programme\Microsoft Visual Studio 8\VC\INCLUDE
C:\Programme\Microsoft Visual Studio .NET\FrameworkSDK\include\
LIB=
C:\Programme\Microsoft Platform SDK\LIB
C:\Programme\Microsoft Visual Studio 8\VC\LIB
C:\Programme\Microsoft Visual Studio 8\SDK\v2.0\lib
C:\Programme\Microsoft Visual Studio .NET\FrameworkSDK\Lib\
PATH=
C:\Programme\Microsoft Visual Studio 8\Common7\IDE
C:\Programme\Microsoft Visual Studio 8\VC\BIN
C:\Programme\Microsoft Visual Studio 8\Common7\Tools
C:\Programme\Microsoft Visual Studio 8\SDK\v2.0\bin
C:\WINDOWS\Microsoft.NET\Framework\v2.0.50727
C:\Programme\Microsoft Visual Studio 8\VC\VCPackages
C:\WINDOWS\system32
C:\WINDOWS
C:\WINDOWS\System32\Wbem
C:\Qt\4.1.0\bin
You are licensed to use this software under the terms of the GNU GPL.
See C:\Qt\4.1.0\LICENSE.GPL

Configuration:
minimal-config
small-config
medium-config
large-config
full-config
build_all
debug
Qt Configuration:
release
debug
zlib
no-gif
png
mng
accessibility
qt3support
opengl
ipv6

QMAKESPEC...................win32-g++ (env)
Architecture................windows
Maketool....................mingw32-make
Debug symbols...............yes
Accessibility support.......yes
STL support.................yes
Exception support...........yes
RTTI support................yes
OpenGL support..............yes

Third Party Libraries:
ZLIB support............qt
GIF support.............no
JPEG support............plugin
PNG support.............qt

MNG support.............qt

Styles:
Windows.................yes
Windows XP..............yes
Plastique...............yes
Motif...................yes
CDE.....................yes

Sql Drivers:
ODBC....................no
MySQL...................no
OCI.....................no
PostgreSQL..............no
TDS.....................no
DB2.....................no
SQLite..................no
SQLite2.................no
InterBase...............no

Sources are in..............C:\Qt\4.1.0
Build is done in............C:\Qt\4.1.0
Install prefix..............C:\Qt\4.1.0
Headers installed to........C:\Qt\4.1.0\include
Libraries installed to......C:\Qt\4.1.0\lib
Plugins installed to........C:\Qt\4.1.0\plugins
Binaries installed to.......C:\Qt\4.1.0\bin
Docs installed to...........C:\Qt\4.1.0\doc
Data installed to...........C:\Qt\4.1.0
Translations installed to...C:\Qt\4.1.0\translations
Examples installed to.......C:\Qt\4.1.0\examples
Demos installed to..........C:\Qt\4.1.0\demos


Processing of project files have been disabled.
Only use this option if you really know what you're doing.


Microsoft (R) Program Maintenance Utility Version 8.00.50727.42
Copyright (C) Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

cl -c -Yc -Fptmp\qmake_pch.pch -Fotmp\qmake_pch.obj -nologo -Zm200 -GS -
wd4996 -O2 -MD -GR -EHsc -W3 -DUNICODE -DQT_LARGEFILE_SUPPORT -DQT_EDITION=QT_ED
ITION_DESKTOP -DQT_BUILD_QMAKE -DQT_BOOTSTRAPPED -DQT_NO_TEXTCODEC -DQT_NO_LIBRA
RY -DQT_NO_STL -DQT_NO_COMPRESS -DQT_NO_UNICODETABLES -DQT_NO_GEOM_VARIANT -DQT_
NO_DATASTREAM -DQMAKE_OPENSOURCE_EDITION -DQT_NODLL -DQT_NO_THREAD -DQT_NO_QOBJE
CT -DWIN32 -I"../src/corelib/arch/generic" -I"generators" -I"generators\unix" -I
"generators\win32" -I"generators\mac" -I"../include" -I"../include/QtCore" -I"..
/qmake" -I"../mkspecs/win32-msvc2005" -TP qmake_pch.h
qmake_pch.h
c1xx : fatal error C1083: Cannot open compiler intermediate file: 'tmp\qmake_pch
.pch': No such file or directory
NMAKE : fatal error U1077: '"C:\Programme\Microsoft Visual Studio 8\VC\BIN\cl.EX
E"' : return code '0x2'
Stop.
C:\Qt\4.1.0>

As you can see in the beginning of the script output, the inviornment variables of both VSC++E and .NET are mixed, and I think this is the couse if the error.
So I need to clean the inviorment variables but for that I need to know where they are stored...
Can any one help?
I cleared it in the registry, but there must be another plcae where this info is being save...

Thanks.

MarkoSan
1st February 2006, 12:15
My Computer->Properties->tab "Advanced"->button "Enviroment Variables"

high_flyer
1st February 2006, 13:42
Only some of the vars are saved there.
For example, I have taken all .NET references out of the system variables from My Computer->Properties->tab "Advanced"->button "Enviroment Variables", and the script still sees the .NET system variables....
There must be another place where this information is saved...

BrainB0ne
4th February 2006, 03:10
I have exactly the same error, trying to install the patch. It boggles my mind how to fix this one... :( :confused:

cabird
4th February 2006, 10:19
I found a simple fix on another site. You just need to create the tmp directory in

<qt install dir>/qmake

Go there and do mkdir tmp and then rerun the script and it should work. The problem doesn't have anything to do with your variables.

-- Chris

BrainB0ne
4th February 2006, 11:10
thx great solution! it works now :)