PDA

View Full Version : WINDOWS 7 64 bit and VISUAL Studio 2011 (2008)



HarrySatt
23rd November 2011, 09:12
Hi.
Qt 4.7.4 and Visual Studio plugin, Win7 64bit OS SPs latest.
I first tried the only the Qt Application from "New projekt". This worked fine for Win32, but if I change to x64 platform I get:
The following error occured:
Can't find a Qt version for the current platform.
What can I do? Where to find the matching platform files?

Thanx, Harald.

PS: Is there also a plugin for ECLIPSE C++

ChrisW67
23rd November 2011, 10:03
Build Qt with a 64-bit compiler.

HarrySatt
23rd November 2011, 10:38
Hi. Visual Studio 2010 (2008) uses a 64bit compiler if I chosse the platform x64. That should not be the problem.
Thanx for help.
Harald.

ChrisW67
23rd November 2011, 10:48
The Qt libraries/utilities you have now are built for a 32-bit target.
You need a set of Qt libraries/utilities that are built with a 64-bit compiler in order to:

Generate appropriate build and link commands for a 64-bit compiler (qmake).
Have libraries you can link into 64-bit executables.

HarrySatt
23rd November 2011, 12:30
Ok
I thought I use the source and compile that for 64bit Win OS. I did not realize that there are 64 libs behind the scene.
Where can I get them?

Thanx, Harald.

ChrisW67
24th November 2011, 00:33
I am not aware of pre-built 64-bit Qt libraries that you can just download: they don't seem to exist in the usual place (http://qt.nokia.com/downloads). (I don't think the library download for Windows contains both)

You can build your own from Qt Sources easily enough.

HarrySatt
24th November 2011, 09:20
I found a place where building dlls for other platforms is described but one thing I can not find. Where is a list of available platforms?

buus
24th November 2011, 11:08
The platforms corresponds to the directory names in %QTDIR%/mkspecs.
And remember when building for x64 with visual studio, you need to open x64 command prompt under the tools folder. Configure should pick up the right platform paths if you do so.

HarrySatt
24th November 2011, 17:19
Thanx a lot. I am done. Compiled for 64bit although the -platform entry looks like 32bit.

Harald.