PDA

View Full Version : C code integration with QT

zeenish
4th December 2011, 20:35
Hello!
I have written a code in C, now i want to display graphs and provide user interface.All i want to know is that is it possible to integrate my this C code with QT(which is written in C++) and if so than how is it possible? I am new to QT, so please give me a detailed answer :)

Oleg
4th December 2011, 22:26
Although this is a bad style, but nothing keeps you from using C code in C++/Qt app. Create a sample Qt application, explore how it works and then put your C code in it. It's hard to provide you detailed instructions, so try and ask if something will go wrong.

Santosh Reddy
5th December 2011, 03:29
Although this is a bad style
What is bad about mixing C & C++?

All i want to know is that is it possible to integrate my this C code with QT(which is written in C++) and if so than how is it possible? I am new to QT, so please give me a detailed answer
You need to have some hands on Qt C++ before you start this.

1. Create a Qt Widget project.
2. Add C code files to the project.
3. Add UI components and interface them with C code
4. You will need to have declarations in place to call C calls from C++ (Google for Mixing C and C++ Code (https://www.google.com/#sclient=psy-ab&hl=en&rlz=1C2CHNG_enUS351&source=hp&rlz=1C2CHNG_enUS351&q=Mixing+C+and+C%2B%2B+Code&pbx=1&oq=Mixing+C+and+C%2B%2B+Code&aq=f&aqi=&aql=&gs_sm=e&gs_upl=95480l95480l1l95857l1l1l0l0l0l0l0l0ll0l0&bav=on.2,or.r_gc.r_pw.,cf.osb&fp=99bad146cdf6fea4&biw=1138&bih=544))

Oleg
5th December 2011, 11:22
What is bad about mixing C & C++?
Actually I mean that such project is harder to support, as you have both c and c++ stdlibs, different memory management functions, type casts, etc, and for example
struct class is valid C, but not C++.

zeenish
5th December 2011, 11:38
Please anyone help me out of this problem, i am quite confused because i am not that much a good programmer