PDA

View Full Version : Image display using QT

ankireddy
3rd January 2012, 09:21
Hello Exports,

I am new to QT programming. I want to develop a small image processing application using QT.

My application displayes animage on screen and need to do some modifications on image pixels. So I need to do some painting (king of masking) on the image (Selecting a region on image with mouse like lines, rectangles ect., ). For example, if I draw a rectangle on the image then I want to modifiy the pixels of the image in that rectangle.

I gone through some of the QT meterial and examples. But I am not able to find the starting point where to start. That is whether should I use GrapicsView or only with QMainWindow.

I saw an example which is using ui::View to display image. But i did not get any help in Qt meterial about Ui.

Can I use GraphicsView in my applications for drawing and to display images. Or should I use some other?

I am planning to use ImageMagick because it will support > 100 image formates.

Can you please guide me how to start Qt project which satisfies the above needs.

Thanks in Advance
Wizards.

wysota
3rd January 2012, 10:27
You can use Graphics View but you don't have to. If you are operating pixel by pixel, it is probably better not to use it. If, instead, you wanted to apply a kind of "filters" on the image (like Photoshop (or GIMP with layers) does), it is likely that using Graphics View would be a better idea to have a object-by-object semantics.

ankireddy
5th January 2012, 10:29
Hello wysota,

Thank you very much for the help.

Now I made a small example to show what I want to do. To do this I followed "Diagram Scene Example" of QGraphicsView.

I overwrite the "QGraphicsScene" class as "gView" to do my image processing related tasks and drawing related tasks. I will do all image processing tasks in this class and I will use "MainWindow" to transfer signals. (like Setting line color, text size ect in "Diagram Scene Example").