PDA

View Full Version : 'Big' QT Project for school

Sicko
1st December 2006, 09:53
Hi, I'm a Belgian student in my Final year, and I need to create a Presences and Absences Program that should help teachers to easily mark who's in class and who's not.
I'm working on it with 1 other guy from my class.
To start off, teachers should login, and they should only be able to access the classes they teach, but they should be able to view other classes, but not edit/delete.

The problem is; We don't know where to start, OR how to even do all the things we have in mind.
We would really appreciate anyone's help, someone to guide us through the whole thing, if possible...

If there's someone out there that is willing to help, please post and I will provide all details about this project.

Thanks,

Mic

munna
1st December 2006, 10:40
You will need a database for this to store all the information about teachers, students, subjects etc.

I think to start off with you can design the database and decided how the User Interface is going to be like. This database will be installed on the server and will be updated by the teachers.

If you use Qt then I think u'll need some kind of agent (client application) deployed on all the computers that the teachers will use to Add, Read, Edit or Update the information.

If you make this web based (no Qt) then teachers can access and edit students information from the browser itself. Teachers will not need to install any application on their system.

I don't have much experience with databases but would like to help you out.

bond007
1st December 2006, 11:46
Hi,

I can think about 2 solutions:
1) Using MySQL server to store data from (Presense Tables). And then using QSqlQueryModel(etc) to work with the tables.
2) Storing data in XML and using a simple form with a table(where you would have the Presense Table)

You can see how it's done by going throught examples in Qt dir.

Good Luck!

Bond007

Conel
1st December 2006, 12:15