PDA

View Full Version : multithreading simple question

qtlearner123
31st January 2012, 08:16
Hi all,

As the forum name suggests i am a newbie to qt programming and this the first time i am posting and hope to get some reply. i have one of these tasks to perform i have one PCI based card with some digital inputs and outputs i have to read the status of those inputs continuously (safely i can read at 100ms without loss of data the lesser it is still better). For this task the supplier has provided a function waitForIRQ() and explains that it would deadlock the thread and returns non zero if some irq happened and returns 0 if some error happened. Now i am trying to write the program in qt and created a thread like this

int main(int argc, char *argv[])
{
QApplication app(argc, argv);

my_thread thread;
thread.start();
// doing some functionality in the main
return app.exec();
}

void my_thread::run()
{
while( waitForIRQ())
return value;

}

i am sorry i have just started QT and C++. please let me know if i have written the code properly. sorry for the poor explanation.

please let me know if i did not explain clearly.

thanks and regards,
satya

wysota
31st January 2012, 10:41
It's more or less okay (provided you do assign some values to "value") however it would be better to do it without having to block the thread. Does the supplier provide any non-blocking API as well?

qtlearner123
31st January 2012, 11:10
Thank you for the reply. i will try to execute the program and see if i could run the program successfully. one thing is i did not understand this blocking and non blocking api you have mentioned i did not think of that. if you don't mind could you please explain me. i will also try google to understand.

thanks and regards,
satya

wysota
31st January 2012, 13:15