PDA

View Full Version : First serious project using Qt - I need some guidelines

Blackened Justice
17th March 2012, 18:39
Hey everyone,

This past semester, I did a project for my programming class, using the C language with the Allegro graphical library. Anyway, I've been reading up and doing Qt tutorials for some weeks, and now wish to embark on a real project: porting that project to C++ and Qt.

Well, I've been having a hard time starting out. I have a general vision of how I want the interface to be, but I'm still a bit new to the whole OO paradigm, so I'm afraid I'm approaching the problem from the wrong angle. I tinkered with it for a bit, but just decided it was a better idea to start from scratch.

I have my code hosted at github: https://github.com/JPaquim/ATC-Qt
The C/Allegro version is in the c-allegro folder, I'm sorry about the Portuguese comments and readme, but the professor wanted it in Portuguese.

The project is a game like some out there, based on the monitoring and control of airplanes entering and leaving an airspace. So far I've made a few classes, namely a MainWindow (in order to have a menu bar and tool bars, along with a status bar) from a Trolltech tutorial, a MyWidget (QWidget which will be the central widget in the MainWindow) where I'll put the interface, an Airspace (which will be the heart of the program, a QWidget that will control the airspace graphical representation, containing the various entry gates, runways and airplanes.

I'm having a hard time figuring out how to progress right now... I want to take care of the loading of the airspace's configuration file first, and then take care of drawing the elements loaded from that file (gates and runways), but what is the correct way of doing that? Should I just load from the configuration file in the Airspace class's constructor?

Any help and comments would be welcome,
Cheers

amleto
17th March 2012, 18:58