PDA

View Full Version : Styling a QTextEdit

hickscorp
30th March 2012, 17:21
Hello everyone,

i'm not new to Qt, however i'm very new to applying stylesheets to widgets. That's why i'm posting in this topic. If you feel that i should be posting in the "Programming" section, tell me and i'll delete this post and create it later.

So basically, i have a QTextEdit widget on a dialog, and i'm trying to apply a stylesheet on it. My stylesheet is in a resource file, and contains this:

* {
margin: 0;
padding: 0;
color: Black;
white-space: normal;
font-family: Arial;
font-size: 10px;
font-weight: normal;
}
h1 {
color: Red;
font-size: 11px;
}
h2 {
}
h3 {
}

Then on my dialog constructor, i do:

// Set up stylesheet on slip summary widget.
QFile fStyle(":/Resources/Stylesheets/SlipSummary.css");
fStyle.open (QIODevice::ReadOnly|QIODevice::Text);
_ui.txtSlipSummary->setStyleSheet(fStyle.readAll());
fStyle.close();

My main problem is that no titles are being shown in red. If i put the "color: red" on the first "*" selector, everything turns red, but no luck with the individual selectors... What can be the problem?

Related to styling widgets, i have a question. Lets say a QTextEdit base contents is set to:

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.0//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/REC-html40/strict.dtd">
<html>
<head>
<meta name="qrichtext" content="1" />
</head>
<body>
<h1>Test</h1>
<h2>Foo</h2>
<p>Bar</p>
</body>
</html>

Then would it be possible to set a stylesheet which would be in a QRC file like this within the <head /> tag:

<LINK href=":/Resources/CSS/Main.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css">

Thanks a lot for your help,
Pierre.

Lykurg
30th March 2012, 17:29
Hi,

with _ui.txtSlipSummary->setStyleSheet(fStyle.readAll()); you are setting a style sheet for a widget not for the HTML page, what is what you want. You have to set the css file to file in the editor. For that see my old wiki post that you can get a clue how to do that: QTextBrowser with images and CSS