PDA

View Full Version : cin.readLine(); //not being executed. Why?

Landslyde
25th May 2012, 02:41
I'm new to both C++ and Qt. I'm reading an online book (http://www.ics.com/files/designpatterns/book/index.html) and am at Example 1.8. My code is exactly as theirs, but I cannot get to cin.readLine(); I can enter my sentence with whitespaces and hit <enter> a 100 times, but I never get to the next line of code. Can someone tell me why? Here is my code:

//#include <QtCore/QCoreApplication>
#include <QTextIStream>
#include <QString>
//#include <QFile>

QTextStream cout(stdout);
QTextStream cin(stdin);

int main()
{
//QCoreApplication a(argc, argv);
QString s1("This "), s2("is a "), s3("string");
s1 += s2; //concatenation
QString s4 = s1 + s3;
cout << s4 << endl;
cout << "The length of that string is " << s4.length() << endl;
cout << "Enter a sentence with whitespaces: " << endl;

// The following three lines of code never execute.

s2 = cin.readLine();
cout << "Here is your sentence: \n" << s2 << endl;
cout << "The length of your sentence is: " << s2.length() << endl;

return 0;
//return a.exec();
}

ChrisW67
25th May 2012, 05:22
I seriously doubt their example has commented out lines of code. Please use
... tags around code.

Anyway, that code compiles and runs correctly here. Are you running it on Windows and is a console window popping up to take your input?

Landslyde
25th May 2012, 05:38
ChrisW67: The commented-out lines have no affect on the program execution. However, I did go back and put the code in line-for-line. The same result occured. The program accepts my sentence, but it will not move past it to the next line of code: cin.readLine(); My OS is Linux Mint. The program output is in Qt Creator, in its own console below the code. This is the only example that has not ran as expected, and I cannot understand why.

ChrisW67
25th May 2012, 06:14