PDA

View Full Version : QProcess calls finished signal before started process exits

sa5webber
1st June 2012, 21:53
I'm new to QT so I'm sure I'm either misunderstanding something or just doing something wrong.
The problem is that when I run the code below, it opens up the application and also immediately
calls the finished() function even though the application is still running. I wouldn't expect it to
emit the finished signal until after the application has exited?

What am I missing?

Here is my test code.

mainwindow.h
==========

private slots:
void procEditFinished(int exitCode, QProcess::ExitStatus exitStatus);

private:
QProcess *procEdit;

mainwindow.cpp
============

void MainWindow::on_btnEdit_clicked()
{
QString app = "/usr/bin/gedit";
QStringList arg;

arg << "file.txt";
procEdit = new QProcess(this);
connect(procEdit, SIGNAL(finished(int, QProcess::ExitStatus)),
this, SLOT(procEditFinished(int, QProcess::ExitStatus)));

procEdit->start(app, arg);
}

void MainWindow::procEditFinished(int exitCode, QProcess::ExitStatus exitStatus)
{
qDebug("exitCode= %d, exitStatus= %d", exitCode, exitStatus);
procEdit->deleteLater();
}

wysota
2nd June 2012, 01:46
My guess would be that gedit forks and quits the parent process to detach itself from the terminal.

sa5webber
2nd June 2012, 05:26
Thanks for the reply. I don't think that is the problem. I see the same behavior when executing a linux shell script. I've also done the same thing with gedit using mono (linux implementation of .net) which implements a similar Process class. That class doesn't show gedit exiting until I close it.

ChrisW67
2nd June 2012, 06:34