PDA

View Full Version : Move file to trash on Windows

huilui
3rd June 2012, 10:57
Hi guys,

This is my first time trying to implement something using the Windows API... I want to send a file to Trash on Windows. I searched the internet and found a couple more or less helpful pages, and I eventually ended up with the following couple lines of code:

QString filepath = "C:\\some\\file";

QFile f(filepath);
if(!f.exists())
qDebug() << "ERROR: File doesn't exist";

SHFILEOPSTRUCT FileOPStruct;

filepath += '\0';

FileOPStruct.hwnd=NULL;
FileOPStruct.wFunc=FO_DELETE;
FileOPStruct.pFrom=LPCWSTR(filepath.toStdString(). c_str());
FileOPStruct.pTo=NULL;
FileOPStruct.fFlags=FOF_NOCONFIRMATION | FOF_NOERRORUI | FOF_ALLOWUNDO | FOF_SILENT;
FileOPStruct.hNameMappings=NULL;
FileOPStruct.lpszProgressTitle=NULL;

if(SHFileOperation(&FileOPStruct))
qDebug() << "ERROR: Deletion failed";
else
qDebug() << "Deleted :)";

The file in QString filepath exists (the check passes just fine), but I always get to "ERROR: Deletion failed", and the file (obviously) is still there. I don't have any previous experience of using the Win API and am just not able to resolve the issue... would anyone mind helping me?

Thanks a million!! :-)

d_stranz
3rd June 2012, 17:17
From a Microsoft Web page (http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/desktop/bb759795%28v=vs.85%29.aspx) (Google is your friend):

pFrom

Type: PCZZTSTR

Note This string must be double-null terminated.

A pointer to one or more source file names. These names should be fully qualified paths to prevent unexpected results.

Standard MS-DOS wildcard characters, such as "*", are permitted only in the file-name position. Using a wildcard character elsewhere in the string will lead to unpredictable results.