PDA

View Full Version : Install Qt 3.3 on RedHat 9

luffy27
19th December 2006, 17:49
I want to develop Qt apps with kdevelop on RedHat 9. But the kdevelop version in RedHat 9 is too old just version 2.1. So I wanna install a newer version of kdevelop on my machine, maybe kdevelop-3.2.
But I found that the newer version kdevelop requires the Qt newer than 3.2. But the RedHat9 only have Qt 3.1, so I should firstly install a newer Qt. I have downloaded the qt-X11-free-3.3.3.tar.gz. Should I uninstall the existing Qt on my machine before installing the new one? And how to uninstall the Qt in RedHat 9?

I am a freshman with Linux and Qt, but I am too eager to study in it. Any reply is great.
Thanks a lot!

wysota
19th December 2006, 18:46
Should I uninstall the existing Qt on my machine before installing the new one?
You can, but it's not necessary. Just make sure you install the new version where your system can find it, that it doesn't clash with the existing installation and that it comes before the old one in system search paths. Remember that uninstalling Qt and failing to properly install newer version will cause KDE to seize working, so be wise.

And how to uninstall the Qt in RedHat 9?
# rpm -e qt qt-devel qt-devel-doc --nodeps

luffy27
19th December 2006, 19:39
You can, but it's not necessary. Just make sure you install the new version where your system can find it, that it doesn't clash with the existing installation and that it comes before the old one in system search paths. Remember that uninstalling Qt and failing to properly install newer version will cause KDE to seize working, so be wise.

# rpm -e qt qt-devel qt-devel-doc --nodeps