PDA

View Full Version : Accessing DB created with QSQLITE4.DLL, using SQLite3.exe

ksandbergfl
18th June 2012, 20:10
Hi,

I will try to keep my question simple and specific. I am a software developer by trade, but this is my first exposure to SQLite and QT. I am seeing behavior that I do not understand.

I am on Windows 7.

I have an application that was created using QT, by a 3rd party. It has several SQLite DB files that it reads/writes.

I am attempting to write some scripts to automate loading/updating the DB files with my own data.

When I run the 3rd party app, I can add/edit entries as expected. Using Windows Explorer, I can see that the DB file modification date changes. Using a hex editor, I can open up the DB file and see that the new records are there, inside the DB file.

However -- when I open up the DB file using SQLite3 (ala "sqlite3 myDB.db .dump"), the records do not appear! The output of the DUMP command always appears to be an earlier version of the DB, not the current one.

Moreover -- if I use Windows to copy the DB file to another location, and use SQLite to open it -- I can see the new records! I can edit and manipulate the records as I wish, but when I copy the DB file back to where the 3rd party app uses it... the records I added/changed do not show up using SQLite, or when I run the 3rd party app.

I have read several posts around here about "in memory" DB -- is the 3rd party app using the in-memory option? How do I get the 3rd party app to unload the in-memory copy, so I can edit it? More specifically, how/why does QT's SQLite implementaion (QSQLITE4.DLL) differ from the standard SQLite3 operation? Would I have better success downloaded QT, and using the QSQLITE4.DLL to operate on these DB files? Why can't I do it using only SQLite3? I'm wondering if the version of SQLite3 has to *exactly* match the version that was compiled into QSQLITE4.DLL -- is there a way I can check QSQLITE4.dll for which SQLite it uses?