PDA

View Full Version : displaying help text after clicking the pushbutton and lineedit

riarioriu3
21st June 2012, 06:31
I have a pushbutton and a lineedit , and what i want is , when i click that pushbutton or lineedit a help text(the purpose of that component) shall be shown besides the respective component.
Please give reply soon , i need it urgently ..
Thankx in advance ..

wysota
21st June 2012, 08:59
QWhatsThis

riarioriu3
21st June 2012, 09:52
Could you please give a small example on QWhatsThis , so that i can know how to implement this for pushbutton ?? .. I am new to Qt . so please ....

wysota
21st June 2012, 10:04
Is the example in the docs for QWhatsThis not enough for your needs?

riarioriu3
21st June 2012, 11:42
My button object is ResPg38_FEA_pshBtn .
I am using ui.ResPg38_FEA_pshBtn->setWhatsThis(tr("This button helps for creating a new file")); . This line get executed when the user click the ResPg38_FEA_pshBtn button . so it should show the above mentioned help text ..
but its not showing anything .
Here is my code .
void CTQResS38_SaveData::on_ResPg38_FEA_pshBtn_clicked( )
{
ui.ResPg38_FEA_pshBtn->setWhatsThis(tr("This button helps for creating a new file."));
}
What should i do ?
Thankx in adv ..

wysota
21st June 2012, 11:43
It's not how it works. "whatsthis" is a property that you can set at any time. If you want to display the advice, you need to QWhatsThis::enterWhatsThisMode() and then click on a widget that has a whats this text set on it. Read the manual, please.

riarioriu3
21st June 2012, 11:56
Thankxx a lot .. i got it ....

riarioriu3
26th June 2012, 10:24
1---In my tool bar one button is there . When i am clicking that button it calls QWhatsThis::enterWhatsThisMode() .
2-- The cursor changes to some red circle kind of thing .