PDA

View Full Version : Continously receive from server using waitforReadyread()

rinku
18th August 2012, 14:12
I am new in QT i have written one server client application in where my server will continuously send some file names to client and client should receive them correspondly one by one.In client side to receive the file names i am using "waitforReadyread()" in a while loop like,

while(sock->waitforreadyReady(300))

{

sock->read(f_name,sock->bytesavailable());

-----

}

So i am recevieng the filenames till that timeout but server send all the file names. i want to receive all the file names from server untill server send some finsh string to client. so please help.

ChrisW67
19th August 2012, 05:02
For a start, don't use the synchronous functions, use the readyRead() signal to fire a slot. When you receive the signal take all the available data and append it to a QByteArray (that's declared as a member variable of the class not a local). If the QByteArray contains the end-of-list marker then process the data from the start of the array to the marker, remove that data from the array, and return from the slot with any remaining data still in the array.

rinku
20th August 2012, 05:57
thnks for your reply m using readyread signal to fire my receiving slot.. so you mean to say i should use QByteArray to receive all the filenames..and what about loop then?can you plz explain me more?

ChrisW67
20th August 2012, 08:30
Your loop is using the blocking waitForReadyRead() function, so it is incompatible with the typical asynchronous non-blocking process.

The general idea (no error checking etc.) is in this code snippet:

class Fetcher: public QObject
{
Q_OBJECT
public:
Fetcher(QObject *p = 0): QObject(p), reply(0) {}

void fetch(const QUrl &url) {
buffer.clear();
reply = nam.get(QNetworkRequest(url));
connect(reply, SIGNAL(finished()), SLOT(slotFinished()));
connect(reply, SIGNAL(readyRead()), SLOT(slotReadyRead()));
}

public slots:
void slotReadyRead() {