PDA

View Full Version : Passing variables/paths from ROOT Project to SUBDIRECTORY Projects without PRI



iamDAMON
26th September 2012, 08:41
Hi Guys!

I'm a newbie in Qt, I'm working on a project that has 1 root project and 3 subdirectory projects

ROOT.pro
|__
SUB1.pro
|__
SUB2.pro
|__
SUB3.pro

#####ROOT.pro
TEMPLATE = subdir
SUBDIRS += SUB1.pro\
SUB2.pro\
SUB3.pro
PATHSAMPLE = $$PWD/pathsampledir/

#####SUB1.pro
QT += core gui
TEMPLATE = app
SOURCES += sub1source.cpp
HEADERS += sub1header.h
FORMS += sub1form.ui

win32{
Debug{
DESTDIR = PATHSAMPLE
}
}

#####SUB2.pro
QT += core gui
TEMPLATE = app
SOURCES += sub2source.cpp
HEADERS += sub2header.h
FORMS += sub2form.ui

win32{
Debug{
DESTDIR = PATHSAMPLE
}
}

#####SUB3.pro
QT += core gui
TEMPLATE = app
SOURCES += sub3source.cpp
HEADERS += sub3header.h
FORMS += sub3form.ui

win32{
Debug{
DESTDIR = PATHSAMPLE
}
}

In this case, i would like to access PATHSAMPLE from the ROOT.pro to the SUBDIRECTORIES without using/including .pri. Can you help me guys? Is it possible? What can I do to solve this one? Thanks in advance

wysota
26th September 2012, 09:24
First of all it should be DESTDIR = $$PATHSAMPLE. Second of all what's wrong with pri files?

iamDAMON
26th September 2012, 09:43
Hi Sorry for that. Yeah it should be
DESTDIR = $$PATHSAMPLE

I just want to know if its possible without including PRI. Is it possible Sir?

wysota
26th September 2012, 09:47
As far as I remember with SUBDIR template some variables are being passed to child projects. If it doesn't work for you, you can always use environment variables.

iamDAMON
26th September 2012, 09:50
Thank You Sir.

Can you give example Sir. I'm a little bit confused about this. And how can I check the cvariables that are being passed to child projects?

wysota
26th September 2012, 09:52
And how can I check the cvariables that are being passed to child projects?

Observe the console output when building the projects. And I'm sure you will notice if your variable is being passed or not based on the fact whether it is respected by the child project or not.

iamDAMON
26th September 2012, 09:58
I'll check it Sir. Are you referring the Compile Output of Qt Creator?

wysota
26th September 2012, 10:03
15:54:01: Configuration unchanged, skipping qmake step.

Clean the project first.

iamDAMON
26th September 2012, 10:17
Hi Sir,

Here's the result after Cleaning and Building the project

COMPILE OUTPUT:

Reading C:/Users/aarrojo/Desktop/ROOT/ROOT/SUB2/SUB2.pro
Reading C:/Users/aarrojo/Desktop/ROOT/ROOT/SUB3/SUB3.pro
16:15:42: The process "c:\qtsdk\desktop\qt\4.7.4\mingw\bin\qmake.exe" exited normally.
16:15:42: Starting: "C:\QtSDK\mingw\bin\mingw32-make.exe"
cd SUB1\ && C:/QtSDK/mingw/bin/mingw32-make.exe -f Makefile
mingw32-make.exe[1]: Entering directory `C:/Users/aarrojo/Desktop/ROOT/ROOT/SUB1'
C:/QtSDK/mingw/bin/mingw32-make.exe -f Makefile.Debug
mingw32-make.exe[2]: Entering directory `C:/Users/aarrojo/Desktop/ROOT/ROOT/SUB1'
c:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\bin\uic.exe sub1.ui -o ui_sub1.h
g++ -c -g -frtti -fexceptions -mthreads -Wall -DUNICODE -DQT_LARGEFILE_SUPPORT -DQT_DLL -DQT_GUI_LIB -DQT_CORE_LIB -DQT_HAVE_MMX -DQT_HAVE_3DNOW -DQT_HAVE_SSE -DQT_HAVE_MMXEXT -DQT_HAVE_SSE2 -DQT_THREAD_SUPPORT -DQT_NEEDS_QMAIN -I"c:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\include\QtCore" -I"c:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\include\QtGui" -I"c:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\include" -I"c:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\include\ActiveQt" -I"debug" -I"." -I"c:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\mkspecs\win32-g++" -o debug\main.o main.cpp
g++ -c -g -frtti -fexceptions -mthreads -Wall -DUNICODE -DQT_LARGEFILE_SUPPORT -DQT_DLL -DQT_GUI_LIB -DQT_CORE_LIB -DQT_HAVE_MMX -DQT_HAVE_3DNOW -DQT_HAVE_SSE -DQT_HAVE_MMXEXT -DQT_HAVE_SSE2 -DQT_THREAD_SUPPORT -DQT_NEEDS_QMAIN -I"c:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\include\QtCore" -I"c:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\include\QtGui" -I"c:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\include" -I"c:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\include\ActiveQt" -I"debug" -I"." -I"c:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\mkspecs\win32-g++" -o debug\sub1.o sub1.cpp
C:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\bin\moc.exe -DUNICODE -DQT_LARGEFILE_SUPPORT -DQT_DLL -DQT_GUI_LIB -DQT_CORE_LIB -DQT_HAVE_MMX -DQT_HAVE_3DNOW -DQT_HAVE_SSE -DQT_HAVE_MMXEXT -DQT_HAVE_SSE2 -DQT_THREAD_SUPPORT -DQT_NEEDS_QMAIN -I"c:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\include\QtCore" -I"c:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\include\QtGui" -I"c:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\include" -I"c:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\include\ActiveQt" -I"debug" -I"." -I"c:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\mkspecs\win32-g++" -D__GNUC__ -DWIN32 sub1.h -o debug\moc_sub1.cpp
g++ -c -g -frtti -fexceptions -mthreads -Wall -DUNICODE -DQT_LARGEFILE_SUPPORT -DQT_DLL -DQT_GUI_LIB -DQT_CORE_LIB -DQT_HAVE_MMX -DQT_HAVE_3DNOW -DQT_HAVE_SSE -DQT_HAVE_MMXEXT -DQT_HAVE_SSE2 -DQT_THREAD_SUPPORT -DQT_NEEDS_QMAIN -I"c:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\include\QtCore" -I"c:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\include\QtGui" -I"c:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\include" -I"c:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\include\ActiveQt" -I"debug" -I"." -I"c:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\mkspecs\win32-g++" -o debug\moc_sub1.o debug\moc_sub1.cpp
g++ -mthreads -Wl,-subsystem,windows -o debug\SUB1.exe debug/main.o debug/sub1.o debug/moc_sub1.o -L"c:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\lib" -lmingw32 -lqtmaind -lQtGuid4 -lQtCored4 -LC:\OpenSSL-Win32_full\lib
mingw32-make.exe[2]: Leaving directory `C:/Users/aarrojo/Desktop/ROOT/ROOT/SUB1'
mingw32-make.exe[1]: Leaving directory `C:/Users/aarrojo/Desktop/ROOT/ROOT/SUB1'
cd SUB2\ && C:/QtSDK/mingw/bin/mingw32-make.exe -f Makefile
mingw32-make.exe[1]: Entering directory `C:/Users/aarrojo/Desktop/ROOT/ROOT/SUB2'
C:/QtSDK/mingw/bin/mingw32-make.exe -f Makefile.Debug
mingw32-make.exe[2]: Entering directory `C:/Users/aarrojo/Desktop/ROOT/ROOT/SUB2'
c:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\bin\uic.exe sub2.ui -o ui_sub2.h
g++ -c -g -frtti -fexceptions -mthreads -Wall -DUNICODE -DQT_LARGEFILE_SUPPORT -DQT_DLL -DQT_GUI_LIB -DQT_CORE_LIB -DQT_HAVE_MMX -DQT_HAVE_3DNOW -DQT_HAVE_SSE -DQT_HAVE_MMXEXT -DQT_HAVE_SSE2 -DQT_THREAD_SUPPORT -DQT_NEEDS_QMAIN -I"c:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\include\QtCore" -I"c:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\include\QtGui" -I"c:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\include" -I"c:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\include\ActiveQt" -I"debug" -I"." -I"c:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\mkspecs\win32-g++" -o debug\main.o main.cpp
g++ -c -g -frtti -fexceptions -mthreads -Wall -DUNICODE -DQT_LARGEFILE_SUPPORT -DQT_DLL -DQT_GUI_LIB -DQT_CORE_LIB -DQT_HAVE_MMX -DQT_HAVE_3DNOW -DQT_HAVE_SSE -DQT_HAVE_MMXEXT -DQT_HAVE_SSE2 -DQT_THREAD_SUPPORT -DQT_NEEDS_QMAIN -I"c:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\include\QtCore" -I"c:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\include\QtGui" -I"c:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\include" -I"c:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\include\ActiveQt" -I"debug" -I"." -I"c:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\mkspecs\win32-g++" -o debug\sub2.o sub2.cpp
C:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\bin\moc.exe -DUNICODE -DQT_LARGEFILE_SUPPORT -DQT_DLL -DQT_GUI_LIB -DQT_CORE_LIB -DQT_HAVE_MMX -DQT_HAVE_3DNOW -DQT_HAVE_SSE -DQT_HAVE_MMXEXT -DQT_HAVE_SSE2 -DQT_THREAD_SUPPORT -DQT_NEEDS_QMAIN -I"c:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\include\QtCore" -I"c:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\include\QtGui" -I"c:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\include" -I"c:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\include\ActiveQt" -I"debug" -I"." -I"c:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\mkspecs\win32-g++" -D__GNUC__ -DWIN32 sub2.h -o debug\moc_sub2.cpp
g++ -c -g -frtti -fexceptions -mthreads -Wall -DUNICODE -DQT_LARGEFILE_SUPPORT -DQT_DLL -DQT_GUI_LIB -DQT_CORE_LIB -DQT_HAVE_MMX -DQT_HAVE_3DNOW -DQT_HAVE_SSE -DQT_HAVE_MMXEXT -DQT_HAVE_SSE2 -DQT_THREAD_SUPPORT -DQT_NEEDS_QMAIN -I"c:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\include\QtCore" -I"c:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\include\QtGui" -I"c:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\include" -I"c:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\include\ActiveQt" -I"debug" -I"." -I"c:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\mkspecs\win32-g++" -o debug\moc_sub2.o debug\moc_sub2.cpp
g++ -mthreads -Wl,-subsystem,windows -o debug\SUB2.exe debug/main.o debug/sub2.o debug/moc_sub2.o -L"c:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\lib" -lmingw32 -lqtmaind -lQtGuid4 -lQtCored4 -LC:\OpenSSL-Win32_full\lib
mingw32-make.exe[2]: Leaving directory `C:/Users/aarrojo/Desktop/ROOT/ROOT/SUB2'
mingw32-make.exe[1]: Leaving directory `C:/Users/aarrojo/Desktop/ROOT/ROOT/SUB2'
cd SUB3\ && C:/QtSDK/mingw/bin/mingw32-make.exe -f Makefile
mingw32-make.exe[1]: Entering directory `C:/Users/aarrojo/Desktop/ROOT/ROOT/SUB3'
C:/QtSDK/mingw/bin/mingw32-make.exe -f Makefile.Debug
mingw32-make.exe[2]: Entering directory `C:/Users/aarrojo/Desktop/ROOT/ROOT/SUB3'
c:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\bin\uic.exe sub3.ui -o ui_sub3.h
g++ -c -g -frtti -fexceptions -mthreads -Wall -DUNICODE -DQT_LARGEFILE_SUPPORT -DQT_DLL -DQT_GUI_LIB -DQT_CORE_LIB -DQT_HAVE_MMX -DQT_HAVE_3DNOW -DQT_HAVE_SSE -DQT_HAVE_MMXEXT -DQT_HAVE_SSE2 -DQT_THREAD_SUPPORT -DQT_NEEDS_QMAIN -I"c:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\include\QtCore" -I"c:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\include\QtGui" -I"c:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\include" -I"c:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\include\ActiveQt" -I"debug" -I"." -I"c:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\mkspecs\win32-g++" -o debug\main.o main.cpp
g++ -c -g -frtti -fexceptions -mthreads -Wall -DUNICODE -DQT_LARGEFILE_SUPPORT -DQT_DLL -DQT_GUI_LIB -DQT_CORE_LIB -DQT_HAVE_MMX -DQT_HAVE_3DNOW -DQT_HAVE_SSE -DQT_HAVE_MMXEXT -DQT_HAVE_SSE2 -DQT_THREAD_SUPPORT -DQT_NEEDS_QMAIN -I"c:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\include\QtCore" -I"c:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\include\QtGui" -I"c:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\include" -I"c:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\include\ActiveQt" -I"debug" -I"." -I"c:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\mkspecs\win32-g++" -o debug\sub3.o sub3.cpp
C:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\bin\moc.exe -DUNICODE -DQT_LARGEFILE_SUPPORT -DQT_DLL -DQT_GUI_LIB -DQT_CORE_LIB -DQT_HAVE_MMX -DQT_HAVE_3DNOW -DQT_HAVE_SSE -DQT_HAVE_MMXEXT -DQT_HAVE_SSE2 -DQT_THREAD_SUPPORT -DQT_NEEDS_QMAIN -I"c:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\include\QtCore" -I"c:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\include\QtGui" -I"c:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\include" -I"c:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\include\ActiveQt" -I"debug" -I"." -I"c:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\mkspecs\win32-g++" -D__GNUC__ -DWIN32 sub3.h -o debug\moc_sub3.cpp
g++ -c -g -frtti -fexceptions -mthreads -Wall -DUNICODE -DQT_LARGEFILE_SUPPORT -DQT_DLL -DQT_GUI_LIB -DQT_CORE_LIB -DQT_HAVE_MMX -DQT_HAVE_3DNOW -DQT_HAVE_SSE -DQT_HAVE_MMXEXT -DQT_HAVE_SSE2 -DQT_THREAD_SUPPORT -DQT_NEEDS_QMAIN -I"c:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\include\QtCore" -I"c:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\include\QtGui" -I"c:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\include" -I"c:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\include\ActiveQt" -I"debug" -I"." -I"c:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\mkspecs\win32-g++" -o debug\moc_sub3.o debug\moc_sub3.cpp
g++ -mthreads -Wl,-subsystem,windows -o debug\SUB3.exe debug/main.o debug/sub3.o debug/moc_sub3.o -L"c:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\lib" -lmingw32 -lqtmaind -lQtGuid4 -lQtCored4 -LC:\OpenSSL-Win32_full\lib
mingw32-make.exe[2]: Leaving directory `C:/Users/aarrojo/Desktop/ROOT/ROOT/SUB3'
mingw32-make.exe[1]: Leaving directory `C:/Users/aarrojo/Desktop/ROOT/ROOT/SUB3'
16:16:23: The process "C:\QtSDK\mingw\bin\mingw32-make.exe" exited normally.

wysota
26th September 2012, 11:07
Yeah, so it didn't work :)

You can do it this way, though:

qmake PATHSAMPLE=pathsampledir

Then qmake will be invoked with PATHSAMPLE=pathsampledir for all subprojects too.

iamDAMON
26th September 2012, 11:16
Hi Sir,

Where will i write this code "qmake PATHSAMPLE=pathsampledir" ?

wysota
26th September 2012, 12:05
Either in the terminal or in QtCreator's project settings.

iamDAMON
27th September 2012, 03:49
Hi Sir,

Are you referring the terminal in LINUX/UBUNTU? Im using Windows Sir.

And for the Qt projects settings, is this the Qmake settings under Project Settings? Am i gonna include the "qmake PATHSAMPLE=pathsampledir" inside the "Additional Arguments"? Sorry for my questions Sir.

pradeepreddyg95
27th September 2012, 06:13
as wysota said you should do it qt command prompt click allprograms in qtcreator you can find qt command prompt and go to your working dir and do as wysota said

iamDAMON
27th September 2012, 07:12
Hi Sir Wysota,

I can now access the "PATHSAMPLE" from the subdirectory projects.

All I did was Add "PATHSAMPLE=pathsampledir" to Additional Arguments under Qmake settings in Project settings.

Thank you so much Sir. This really helps a lot.