PDA

View Full Version : Problems using QSound (Works when it wants to)

Magnus9998
3rd October 2012, 13:51
I'm trying to develop a small sound board (a program with multiple buttons, that you press and emmit a sound) for Symbian S60v5 (for a Nokia X6 device). Using Qt 4.7.4 (the most up to date version, I think). I started programming yesterday so I assume this might be a silly error or something, but this doesn't seem logical to me.

Well, first of all, I design the application, I create the "clicked" slots using "right click > go to slot > clicked()" in each button, then I create a resource file called SoundBoard.qrc.

I create 2 refixes, one is the '/' prefix, which contains images, and the second one is /snd, which contains the sounds. Then I store 2 sounds in /snd: "prueba.mp3" and "trololol.mp3". Both of them have the same format.

Okay, I go to the code, and I insert the following code:

soundFiles.sources = snd\*.mp3
DEPLOYMENT += soundFiles

Inside my SoundBoard.pro file. Then I go to my MainWindow.cpp, and add the following line:

QSound::play("prueba.mp3");

Inside one of the button's click event. I test in on my X6. It works! Yeah, it sounds.

So, I decide to move on and try with the next sound:

QSound::play("trololol.mp3");

The problem is, when I try it, it doesn't sound. It does sound when I try the first one, but if I add more sounds, they doesn't work. Only the first one.

I tried building my project many times and doing all short of things but... it just doesn't want to play.

As I started yesterday, I guess there's something I should know about using resources that I don't know. According to the documentation: http://qt-project.org/doc/qt-4.8/qsound.html
It says that it doesn't work with resources.

Note that QSound does not support resources. This might be fixed in a future Qt version