PDA

View Full Version : Deploying a Qt application

seub
11th October 2012, 04:23
Hi everyone,

Total newbie to Qt here ;) Also, actually, to software development in general. I am a young mathematician who has just completed writing his first "scientific" program using Qt. I hope you'll forgive me if my questions sound silly (and I am aware that this has been asked several times, and that there's documentation on this).

I've designed this program using Qt Creator 2.5.0 (based on Qt 4.8.1 64 bits) on my PC under Linux (Ubuntu 12.04 64 bits). It works very well, but trying to figure out how to deploy the app for the past couple days has been a rude awakening. I didn't expect I'd be so lost and nowhere at this point.

So, my project is not very sophisticated, it consists of approximantely 40 headers and 40 sources, a qrc containing a few png and html files, and I'm using a bunch of Qt classes which I guess are the most classical ones. Now I'd like to make this available in the simplest possible way for Linux, Mac and Windows users (mostly fellow mathematicians I guess, but those can ignore the first thing about computers). I'm tempted to give it up and ask people to install qt and compile my files, but I hope i change my mind.

So, this is where I'm at now, please correct me if needed:
-For Linux users, I should probably compile my program using static linking (?)
Problem1: see afer.
Q1: I guess I want to compile two versions, 32 and 64 bits? How well are they going to work on different distributions?
Q2: Sould I make a deb file or something?

-For Windows users,