PDA

View Full Version : Non programmer seeks knowledge on general practices

whtemple1959
28th November 2012, 23:02
Hello,

I am not a programmer. If you want your taxes done I am your man but I am having a hard time getting my head around your magik.

But, I want to build a game for my 3 year old son and I would like to have it done before he graduates high school.

I believe using an IDE is the best way for me to see this project to fruition. I have been reading books and finding information on the web about writing programs. To my joy I even found a site that explains writing code for Linux will not always work for windows...that made my head spin. My life experiences has not prepared me for the confusion of C++.

First, I have a friend who is a programmer and he has already politely, with a hardy chuckle, informed me that my task is going to be daunting. Although he is an expert, IMHO, on Linux, Mac, Windows, C++, and probably others that I do not know about, he admits he is not that familiar with Qt.

So I search the world seeking knowledge and guidance.

I want to build a first person 3D game using the Earth as the terrain and having it be a globe. I have found 2 working open source projects and have permission to use them.

Using various forms of transportation I want the players to travel to different places and times to learn about history, geography, society, mathematics, et cetera. I have found a wonderful program, written in Qt, that builds roads which can also build railways. I do need to learn about A* path finder principles.

I have my daughter working on 3D images, she is a bit of an artist, using SketchUp but she may need to take a crash course in GIMP or Blender.

Finally, KDE has a wonderful project called Marble which uses GeoDataPlacemarks which look like they are perfect for the educational aspect.