PDA

View Full Version : Qt Creator IDE doesn't suggest the methods

expert_vision
2nd January 2013, 12:06
I'm a total newbie to OOP but I know this, whenever I type "." next to an object, IDE nicely shows me all of it's methods and functions. But not in this case:

void Widget::on_Start_clicked()
{
QTextStream stream(&file);
QString content = stream.readAll();
QStringList lines = content.split("\\n");
lines.at(0).
but if I do this:

void Widget::on_Start_clicked()
{
QTextStream stream(&file);
QString content = stream.readAll();
QStringList lines = content.split("\\n");
QString line = lines.at(0);
line.
it works.

So .. what's going on?

ChrisW67
3rd January 2013, 05:37
The editor probably cannot see a full definition of QStringList, just a forward declaration, so it has no idea that QStringList::at() exists and returns QString. If you #include <QStringList> you should see a change.

expert_vision
3rd January 2013, 17:31
No, it does suggest the methods for the QStringList object, but it does not suggest the methods for the QString object inside the QStringList object.
Basically what I need to write is lines.at(0).toInt(); , and toInt() is not suggested.
I did include QString and QStringList, but that didn't do the trick.

boudie
3rd January 2013, 22:39
Both examples work without any problem here (using Qt Creator 2.4.1 on Ubuntu Linux).

ChrisW67
3rd January 2013, 23:45
Which Qt Creator version?
Does the code actually compile? Qt Creator can be a bit fussy if there are earlier broken bits of code in the file: they break the parser. Older versions of Creator are fussier.

expert_vision
5th January 2013, 10:50
I use Qt Creator 2.0.1 with Qt 4.7.0 on Ubuntu 64-bit.
Yes, the code still compiles if I type it down myself.
I should probably upgrade, but I'm a bit afraid I might broke Qt, and that would be very unfortunate. :P
Anyway, maybe I'll try install the suggested Qt Creator on a new VM.

ChrisW67
5th January 2013, 20:17