PDA

View Full Version : Fast way to display 800*600 changing pixels

Zooky
2nd January 2013, 15:25
Hello,

I'm new to Qt and have to display images of approximately 600*800 pixels. The color of each pixel is calculated independently of the others and has to be constantly recalculated. I made a loop through the pixels to build a QImage (which is, according to the doc, optimised for pixel operations), which is converted in a Pixmap and displayed in a QLabel. However, the conversion operation is to slow.
I searched on the forums and found many different ways to display images, but I don't know which one is the best for my situation. For example, could I use QGraphicScene/QGraphicView to do it ? Does the fact that I calculate every pixel lead to an other solution ?
I know nothing about openGL, but would the use of a QGLWidget be a good thing ?

Please help me, I'm a bit lost with all the different possibilities that I found.

(And please excuse my english, which is not very good)

Santosh Reddy
3rd January 2013, 07:12
As you are dealing with just one image, which ever widget you use QGraphicsView/QWidget/opengl may not differ much.

I see the bottleneck is with recalculating pixel values, displaying them is not. Selection of a widget will not help you in recalculating the pixels faster.

wysota
3rd January 2013, 09:25
Transforming QImage to QPixmap is always going to be slow on X11. See if running your app with a "-graphicssystem render" option helps. One way or the other it might prove faster to draw each pixel separately instead of redrawing the whole image unless all pixels change at the same time (then rendering the whole image will always be faster than plotting 800x600 separate entities). Using OpenGL could help too but you need to manipulate textures directly (e.g. by using FBOs).

Zooky
3rd January 2013, 09:31
Thanks for reply !