PDA

View Full Version : Qt5.0.0 configure.bat Unrecognized character \x89 problem



budda
4th January 2013, 00:09
So I'm installing the release version of Qt5.0.0 from the everywhere source. Have Visual Studio 2010 installed first, then I installed as per http://qt-project.org/forums/viewthread/23048

which means the python, perl, ruby, windowsSDK, icu all in place, installed, and environment variables correct....

when I try the configure line of:

configure -debug-and-release -opensource -developer-build -make libs -make tools -make examples -qt-sql-sqlite -opengl desktop -platform win32-msvc2010 -fully-process -openssl -L C:/OpenSSL-Win32/lib -I C:/OpenSSL-Win32/include -icu -L C:/icu/lib -I C:/icu/include

I get:

Unrecognized character \x89; marked by <-- HERE after <-- HERE near column 1 at C:\Qt\Qt5.0.0\configure line 1.

any body know what is wrong?

Jul
4th January 2013, 12:24
I do have the same issue. The configure file (\qt-everywhere-opensource-src-5.0.0\configure) is not readable when you open with any editor. Any clues?

budda
7th January 2013, 19:58
Even though the Perl was in the system environment variables, I called an additional
PATH C:\Perl\bin and PATH C:\Perl\site\bin from the command line.
apparently, though the problem has to do with having the WindowsSDK being version 6.1a
QT 5 has a minimum requirement of Windows SDK 7.0
having trouble installing 7.0 or 7.1, which is looking like a NET 4.0 not doing a full install problem...
at this point, I'm going to scrub the OS and start over as this is all on a virtual machine.
Installing the MingW compiler on the host OS is looking far easier, although I will keep attempting the MSVC2010 virtual machine build.
Host machine is running Visual Studio 2012, so hopefully support for that is coming soon....

ChrisW67
7th January 2013, 20:38
The configure.bat and configure files, the former launching the latter on Windows, are plain text files and neither contains a byte with the hex value 0x89. The problem is definitely coming from somewhere else but without any error context information it's very hard to say: is it Perl, Python, Ruby or something else emitting the error. What happens before then?

configure is a Perl script, so check you have a Perl >= 5.8 (as stated in README file) or >= 5.14 (Build from git instructions http://qt-project.org/wiki/Building_Qt_5_from_Git) . You also need Python >= 2.6 and Ruby for WebKit.

Jul: If you cannot open configure from Qt5 with a text editor then you have a corrupt file or inadequate text editor.

jason86
9th January 2013, 22:04
Has anyone found a solution to this? I am having the same problem, but I am using Visual Studios 2012. After some searching I have seen others having similar errors from perl scripts.

http://www.perlmonks.org/?node_id=662942

Is it possible that perl is incorrectly parsing some characters in the the script file?

wysota
9th January 2013, 22:09
Which perl version do you have?

jason86
10th January 2013, 02:07
Today I downloaded activeperl 5.16.2 from:

http://www.activestate.com/activeperl/downloads

It is the only version of perl that's been installed

Jul
10th January 2013, 09:05
I am working with VS2010 on Windows7 32Bit.

Perl 5.14.2 and Phyton 2.7.3 are installed on my system.

you can check what perl is installed on your system by calling perl -v from your command prompt.

For some reason extracting "qt-everywhere-opensource-src-5.0.0.zip" with windows7 default extractor causes the corrupt configure file. This is the reason of the failure.

Now it works like a charm :).

These are the steps I did:

1. Download "qt-everywhere-opensource-src-5.0.0.zip" from http://qt-project.org/downloads

2. Extract the package e.g. using 7-Zip http://www.7-zip.de/download.html (DON`T use the default windows extractor!)

3. Open your Visual Studio 2010 Command Prompt (Start Menu->all Programs->Microsoft Visual Studio 2010->Visual Studio Tools->Visual Studio Command Prompt(2010))

4. Go to your Qt5.0.0 directory (e.g ..\qt-everywhere-opensource-src-5.0.0\)

5. Start configure (I want to use opengl instead of angle):
configure -no-angle -opengl desktop

For more help: configure -help

6. Confirm that you want to use the open source edition and accept the terms

7. If it´s done just run the makefile:
nmake

That´s all!

jason86
11th January 2013, 14:47
Thanks Jul! Windows 7 internal extractor was corrupting some files. I used 7-Zip and had no issues. Now config works and I was able to compile the libraries.