PDA

View Full Version : Need Advice on Good Widget for Defining Order of Items in a List

davethomaspilot
7th January 2013, 22:13
I'm pretty new to using the built-in Qt widgets.

I have a list of six names. I want the user to be able to pick four of the six, and define an order for those four.

There will be N sets of these lists. The lists are teams, with four team members active at a time. So the user picks a team with six players. Any previous choices need to be remembered, but the user can change which four on the team are active, and what order they're in.

One way I thought of is to have four comboboxes with the same six items for each. The user then picks a different name for each or the four comboboxes. I'd have to indicate somehow when the same name was in two comboboxes.

I can make that work, but maybe there are better ways? The "which 4 of the six" changes infrequently. The order of the "chosen 4" is likely to change frequently. The data I need from the widget is the "chosen 4" in the defined order.

I think a really convenient way would allow the order to be changed by dragging something to the correct place in the four positions, but that might be too complicated.

Thanks for any help!

wysota
7th January 2013, 22:52
Hmm... QListWidget or QTreeWidget, optionally with checkboxes?

boudie
8th January 2013, 08:33
Create one QListWidget, with six items.
Next to it, you place 2 buttons, MoveUp and MoveDown (with a nice icon...).

Select the name you want on top of the list and click MoveUp to get it there.
Select the next name etc. etc.

When done, click Done, or OK.
Read the first 4 or all 6 items.

This way you don`t have the trouble of indicating double items and copying between widgets.
It`s also easier to the eyes, because there are less widgets and you can concentrate on the items (names).

Santosh Reddy
8th January 2013, 10:28