PDA

View Full Version : random questions w/o repetition

shinichi7
8th January 2013, 14:37
hi newbie here and even in QT... i can't work on non-repeating question to display...please help

function riddles1() {
var db = openDatabaseSync("riddleDB","1.0","riddle database", 10000)
var rs

db.transaction(function(tx) {
rs = tx.executeSql('SELECT * FROM riddle')
})

//randomized riddle
for ( var i = 1; i < (rs.rows.length - 1); i++) {
var n = Math.floor(Math.random() * (rs.rows.length))

}}

alizadeh91
8th January 2013, 15:28
what do you mean by var!?

amleto
8th January 2013, 16:47
looks like c#. Which rather begs the question "what does this have to do with Qt?"

wysota
8th January 2013, 20:26
Looks more like JavaScript...

ChrisW67
8th January 2013, 21:55
Yes, Javascript the other language we had to have as part of QML. SQL local storage appears in several places in the Qt docs. Doesn't help shed any light on the OP's actual problem/question though.

wysota
8th January 2013, 22:42
I'm guessing OP wants to randomly choose a row from the database and wants assurance that rows already chosen will not be picked again.

shinichi7
10th January 2013, 10:51
var is variable... yes it's javascript... i use sql to store my riddles question. it's randomized the riddles but it repeats... how to eliminate the one that already given?

sir, what is OP? and how to use it? no idea at all

Santosh Reddy
10th January 2013, 10:53
Only way is to keep track of questions/riddles which were already asked :)

wysota
10th January 2013, 10:58
var is variable... yes it's javascript... i use sql to store my riddles question. it's randomized the riddles but it repeats... how to eliminate the one that already given?