PDA

View Full Version : Building plugins for dummies

Jeff_Birt
22nd January 2007, 03:56
The title says it all, I'm looking for "Building plugins for dummies" type of help. I am a relitive newbie to QT et al (but not programming in general). I managed to downlaod/install/(build the debug files) for QT 4.2.2 open source. I found Qdevelop (IDE) installed it got the two to play nice a did a few 'Hello World' programs. (all on WinXP)

I then sat down and tried to write a simple program to access a SQLite V2 database (becasue that is what another software package writes to and I need to work with those files). I read a bunch of the QT SQL library docs, wite a simple program and QT tells me that the driver (qsqlite2) for SQLite V2 is not available. So then I look up how to build the driver here: http://doc.trolltech.com/4.2/sql-driver.html, and basically says the following (instruction for V3 same as V2):

On Windows:
cd %QTDIR%\src\plugins\sqldrivers\sqlite

qmake -o Makefile "INCLUDEPATH+=C:\SQLITE\INCLUDE" "LIBS+=C:\SQLITE\LIB\SQLITE3.LIB" sqlite.pro

make

Looking at the readme in C:\Qt\4.2.2\src\plugins\sqldrivers\sqlite2 revealed this:

"You will need the SQLite development headers and libraries installed
before compiling this plugin."

So, I take it that I need the SQLite V2 sources. OK, I figured out how to get sqlite 2.8 downloaded from CVS. Now, that I have these sources how do I get them in the form that QT wants in order to build the plugin? I have done a lot of searching but have not come up with anything. Can someone at least point me in the right direction. The sources I got from CVS do not have any type of library file(s) (which I'm guesing I need) Any help would be most appreciated.

Thanks

e8johan
22nd January 2007, 08:29
You need the source to get access to the headers, the libs are probably distributed in a binary package.