PDA

View Full Version : Please critique my application directory function.

LZAntal
18th January 2013, 16:35
Hi all,

My app needs to read configuration files relative to the application directory. I'm on mac and QDir::current() was returning the directory inside the bundle. I found the code below in the docs here (http://doc.qt.digia.com/qt/mac-differences.html) and I wrote a function to use with the addition of falling back to QDir::current if it's not mac.
It works great on the mac I don't have access to windows or linux at the moment to test
Since I'm very new to Qt please let me know if the there is any mistake there or if you would approach it differently.
Also if anyone could test it on windows and/or linux to see what it returns I would greatly appreciate it.

#ifdef Q_OS_MAC
#include "CoreFoundation/CoreFoundation.h"
#endif

QString AppDir(){
#ifdef Q_OS_MAC
CFURLRef appUrlRef = CFBundleCopyBundleURL(CFBundleGetMainBundle());
CFStringRef macPath = CFURLCopyFileSystemPath(appUrlRef,
kCFURLPOSIXPathStyle);
const char *pathPtr = CFStringGetCStringPtr(macPath,
CFStringGetSystemEncoding());
CFRelease(appUrlRef);
CFRelease(macPath);
QString filePath = QString(pathPtr);
QString dirPath = filePath.left(filePath.lastIndexOf("/"));
return dirPath;
#else
QDir appdir = QDir::current();
return appdir.path();
#endif
}

Thank you

Laszlo

wysota
18th January 2013, 16:48
What was wrong with QCoreApplication::applicationDirPath()?

LZAntal
18th January 2013, 16:52
Hi,

It returns the directory inside the bundle Eg: UserDir/MyApp.app/Contents/MacOS which is not what I'm after.
I need the UserDir so users can place configuration files in there next to the app and if it exists the app loads them otherwise it loads the defaults from resources.

Laszlo

wysota
18th January 2013, 17:13
Well... QDir::current() will simply not work. It returns the current working directory which has nothing to do with the application directory.