PDA

View Full Version : SignalSlot Connection across the threads

shruti
30th January 2013, 12:54
Hi All,

I have a query here.I am new to Qt.In my application i have multiple threads running.I want to make a signal slot connection in one of my thread ,so that whenever i that signal i s emitted the slot present in another thread is called.How to achieve it.can you give me an example so that i can refer.?
Please help me out.

lanz
30th January 2013, 13:46
Do it like you you'd done it with conventional slots/signals, Qt::AutoConnection will do the rest.
From the docs:

(default) If the signal is emitted from a different thread than the receiving object, the signal is queued, behaving as Qt::QueuedConnection. Otherwise, the slot is invoked directly, behaving as Qt::DirectConnection. The type of connection is determined when the signal is emitted.
http://doc.qt.digia.com/qt/qt.html#ConnectionType-enum

shruti
30th January 2013, 14:09
My case is like,I have a thread controller which has a timer running. Whenever the timeout occurs the timeout signal is emitted.the timeout signal is connected to a slot named check() in another thread controller. I am making the connection of this signal and slot inside one of the virtual function of my first thread controller.

CONNECTSIGNALSLOT(&m_HeartbeatCheckTimer, timeout(), &mp_HeartBeatManagerThreadController, HeartbeatCheck());

It is showing me error as

error: no matching function for call to 'Threads::MasterThreadController::connect(QTimer*, const char*, HeartBeatManager::HeartBeatManagerThreadController **, const char*)'

Santosh Reddy
30th January 2013, 14:47
Remove the '&' for the third parameter..

//CONNECTSIGNALSLOT(&m_HeartbeatCheckTimer, timeout(), &mp_HeartBeatManagerThreadController, HeartbeatCheck());
CONNECTSIGNALSLOT(&m_HeartbeatCheckTimer, timeout(), mp_HeartBeatManagerThreadController, HeartbeatCheck()); //note the missing &

shruti
30th January 2013, 15:39
Thanks for your reply.