PDA

View Full Version : Wacky QScrollBar behaviour: setSliderPosition vs sliderPosition

0null0
3rd February 2013, 13:22
Hi all. I'm new to Qt, just setup ver. 5.0.0. Good to be here.

I'm coding a small app, like a Ms Notepad with tabs for multiple documents. I have a single QPlainTextEdit and QTabBar to change contents of the text edit.

With each open document, to remember where the viewport was set, I save three parameters of its scrollbar: minimum, maximum, and position (tried both sliderPosition and value). When user goes back to the document, I set these values again - min, max, and then value. Problem is, the scrollbar sets itself to more or less offset values, immediately after the setters are called, so my ingenious method of preserving each document's viewport doesn't work. Could you please help me understand why the scrollbar behaves this way, and perhaps help me fix it? Thanks.

P.S. My app is really simple, so I attached the whole thing, should anyone be so kind as to have a look; hope it's alright.

Santosh Reddy
4th February 2013, 13:47
This should work

void MainWindow::changeActivePage(int d32Index) {
if (this->mapTabsToPages.contains(d32Index)) {
if (this->d32CurrentTab > -1) {
Page* pCurPage = this->mapTabsToPages.value(this->d32CurrentTab);
pCurPage->d32ScrollPosition = this->textEdit->verticalScrollBar()->value();
}

Page* pNewPage = this->mapTabsToPages.value(d32Index);
this->textEdit->setPlainText(pNewPage->getText());
this->d32CurrentTab = d32Index;
this->textEdit->verticalScrollBar()->setValue(pNewPage->d32ScrollPosition);
}
}

I see another problem in the code (may be you are aware of this). When page (tab) is changed, then content (modifications) are lost, and this change in the test content will make the scroll bars maximum value change, and may cause unexpected behaviour. So the suggested code will work for un-modified text / properly saved data only

0null0
4th February 2013, 14:13
Thanks for replying!