PDA

View Full Version : Add widget to mainwindow

K4ELO
18th February 2013, 00:41
Sorry, this is a newbie question, but I have never done it before and can't find any hints in the doc or forum.

I have a mainwindow that was created with designer. Now I have a custom widget that I would like to add in the mainwindow.cpp, but I can't find anything that tells me how to do this. Is this possible, and how?

Thanks for any advice.

Coolname007
18th February 2013, 04:34
Sorry, this is a newbie question, but I have never done it before and can't find any hints in the doc or forum.

I have a mainwindow that was created with designer. Now I have a custom widget that I would like to add in the mainwindow.cpp, but I can't find anything that tells me how to do this. Is this possible, and how?

Thanks for any advice.

It depends on what the widget is for, and where you want it in the window. QMainWindow has several built-in functions for adding widgets to the main window, such as setCentralWidget() (which sets the main widget of the main window), and addToolBar(), and addDockWidget(), etc. Just check them out in the documentation to get an idea how to use them.

Cheers.

Santosh Reddy
18th February 2013, 07:20
If you wanted to add the widget from the designer, there are two ways..

1. Write a Qt Designer plugin (which may be not simple for newbie)
or
2. Add a QWidget in the designer and promote (right-click > promote to) it to the custom widget. Note that you cannot see the costom widget in the disigner, but will be visible only at runtime. If you wanted to see it in the designer then go with first method.

K4ELO
18th February 2013, 15:33
Thanks folks, but what I am asking is if there is a QWidget or QMainWindow function that can be used in the mainwindow.cpp code to add a custom widget to the designer created form. I can't find that there is. But maybe I am missing something.

d_stranz
18th February 2013, 18:01