PDA

View Full Version : QDataStream vs. fwrite

s43lee
24th January 2007, 16:19
Hi --

I just started playing around with Qt (v. 4.2) on Linux, and I'm a little confused on the output data format used in writing binary float or double with QDataStream. How does this format compare with binary writes using fwrite()? -- the binary output results I get from both are different.

thanks.

jpn
24th January 2007, 16:39
Format of the QDataStream Operators (http://doc.trolltech.com/4.2/datastreamformat.html)

e8johan
24th January 2007, 16:43
Qt ensures that the format can be used across the platforms supported. This means that what you write with a QDataStream always can be read - regardless of where it was written or read. One consequence of this can be that it outputs something that is different compared to fwrite.

s43lee
24th January 2007, 16:56
Yes, I know about all the data stream formats but my point was if I write:

QFile ofile("output.dat");
ofile.open(QIODevice::WriteOnly);
QDataStream out(&ofile);
float a=3.2;
out<<a;

The result I get is different than if I had done the binary float write with fwrite() using gcc on Linux. So my question is what is there a difference in how QDataStream and fwrite() are interpreting float for binary output? I know in the documentation, it says that QDataStream uses IEEE 754 format. Does fwrite use a different format? Is the byte ordering different?

wysota
24th January 2007, 21:20
Please read the above answers again. They contain what you ask for. Just a hint - fwrite() stores values in a platform-dependent way, whereas QDataStream does that in platform independent way. The answer should get even more clear when I mention phrases like "big-endianness" and "little-endianness".

s43lee
26th January 2007, 07:51