PDA

View Full Version : How to develop a multi-gui application "alternative for the stacked widget "

sliverTwist
13th March 2013, 12:34
Hello i am a beginner my objective is to develop a multi interfaces application where each interface "widget" had it's own .cpp and .h files .
my second question is how to link them up
i want an application which is similar in the structure and the classes to an android application where each interface has it's specifics files :confused: :confused:

wysota
13th March 2013, 13:15
Use QStackedWidget.

sliverTwist
13th March 2013, 13:20
i know already that but the stackedwidget doesn't allow me to seperate the code of each page "widget" in a separated .cpp and .h file

wysota
13th March 2013, 13:23
Of course it allows you to implement the code of each page in a separate set of files.

sliverTwist
13th March 2013, 13:25
how is that ??? I have already tried it but when implement a new page in the QstackedWidget i don't get a new set of files for the new page

wysota
13th March 2013, 13:47
QStackedWidget::addWidget() -- this accepts pointer to a widget. Any widget. Implemented in any file.

sliverTwist
13th March 2013, 15:29
Sorry for asking again but i have a problem using this method
i have created a new QtDesignerForm class called Widget2
do i call this widget like this ??
ui->stackedWidget->addWidget(Widget2 );

d_stranz
13th March 2013, 15:48
do i call this widget like this ??
ui->stackedWidget->addWidget(Widget2 );

No. You do this:

Widget2 * newWidget2 = new Widget2;
ui->stackedWidget->addWidget( newWidget2 );

As Wysota said, the code for "Widget2" can be implemented *anywhere*. It can even be implemented in a library (such as Qt itself) and all you need to create an instance of "Widget2" is the header file that defines the class and the library containing the compiled code.