PDA

View Full Version : installing QT creator 5



crisHerald
20th May 2013, 12:08
the instructions on the read me is these:

cd <path>/qt-everywhere-opensource-src-<version>
./configure -prefix $PWD/qtbase -opensource -nomake tests
make -j 4


the file are in the downloads folder with this name: qt-everywhere-opensource-src-5.0.2.tar


how i put the <path> and <version>?

ganeshgladish
20th May 2013, 16:25
"-prefix" <PATH> option in the configure above points to the path inside the rootfs where qt-e will be installedon Target FileSystem
'"-platform 'qws/linux-x86-g++" in configure above assumes your host machine CPU to be of 32-bit. For 64-bit, use "-platform qws/linux-x86_64-g++"

try this

sudo ./configure -prefix /opt/qt/

crisHerald
20th May 2013, 20:42
nothing works!

tell me the code above, replacing the parts that should be replaced.

ChrisW67
21st May 2013, 00:09
nothing works!
Really? Your case would be helped by you telling us what you have actually downloaded, what you have actually typed, what actually happened, and what about it indicates it did not work. At the moment we can guess you are on a Linux box and have no other useful information.

tell me the code above, replacing the parts that should be replaced.
Give me a pony.



cd <path>/qt-everywhere-opensource-src-<version>

"<path>" is wherever you have unpacked the distributed Qt source archive file on your machine. You need to unpack the downloaded file first; it will not happen magically. For reasons I hope are obvious we cannot tell you where you have unpacked files on your machine. "<version>" is the plainly obvious version number that appears at the end of the actual directory name of the unpacked Qt source archive.

Guessing that you have not unpacked the TAR file you mention:


cd
tar xvf {your downloads folder}/qt-everywhere-opensource-src-5.0.2.tar
cd qt-everywhere-opensource-src-5.0.2




./configure -prefix $PWD/qtbase -opensource -nomake tests

"$PWD" is an environment variable. You type it exactly as presented above.


make -j 4

Build the library. You type this exactly as above. Incidentally, these are instructions for building the Qt libraries, not Qt Creator


Your level of understanding suggests to me that you should probably start with the pre-built library or Qt Creator binaries (http://qt-project.org/downloads).

crisHerald
21st May 2013, 15:21
im my first post i told this informations:


the file are in the downloads folder with this name: qt-everywhere-opensource-src-5.0.2.tar

Added after 36 minutes:

i tried another download from:

http://qt-project.org/downloads and now i have this file i my Downloads folder

qt-linux-opensource-5.0.2-x86-offline.run

forgive me for my hard way to understand. i'm beginner on linux...

in the software center i can't download the qt 5, just the qt 4 is avaliable.

Added after 8 minutes:

the procedure is the same for this type of file?

ChrisW67
21st May 2013, 20:30
Run that file. You may need add execute permissions to the file first. Assuming it is in the current directory:


chmod u+x qt-linux-opensource-5.0.2-x86-offline.run
./qt-linux-opensource-5.0.2-x86-offline.run

You can probably do both these actions using a GUI file manager if you need to.

crisHerald
22nd May 2013, 02:13
no such file or directory :(

when i try this on terminal:


chmod u+x qt-linux-opensource-5.0.2-x86-offline.run


i don need t put the path, in other words: the downloads folder?

can i make this in right click properties / permissions/ allow execution as a file software?

ChrisW67
22nd May 2013, 04:35
no such file or directory :(

That would be because the file is not in whatever directory you are in. That is why I typed "Assuming it is in the current directory". If it is not the current directory then you can either specify a full or relative path to the file or change directory to where the file is first.


can i make this in right click properties / permissions/ allow execution as a file software?
Yes, and double-clicking will probably launch the file if it is marked as executable by the user.

crisHerald
22nd May 2013, 13:55
i don´ t have any application to open exe files.
which app can i use to open?

rawfool
22nd May 2013, 14:40
If you are using Linux, you cannot open .exe file directly.
What is the name of exe that you want to open ?

crisHerald
22nd May 2013, 16:06
forgive me for this mistake i mean .run file it needs a application to open.

rawfool
23rd May 2013, 07:44
I think you didn't follow ChrisW67's earlier post #6.

chmod u+x qt-linux-opensource-5.0.2-x86-offline.run
./qt-linux-opensource-5.0.2-x86-offline.run
To run the binary, you have to do second line. Is that what you are looking for ?

ChrisW67
23rd May 2013, 11:03
Since you seem to be using Nautilus:

Open NAutilus
Locate qt-linux-opensource-5.0.2-x86-offline.run
Righ-click on it and select properties
Select the Permissions tab
Make sure the Execute checkbox is ticked
Click close
Double-click the qt-linux-opensource-5.0.2-x86-offline.run file

9058

saman_artorious
23rd May 2013, 11:10
You're very lucky to be having Chris straight forward explanation ;).
After this steps, you may also make sure you have gcc and g++ installed on your system as Qt does not have its own built compiler.
If you got any error regarding compilers, install gcc and g++ packages.

crisHerald
24th May 2013, 02:30
thanks for attetion from every one. now iḿ using debian 7 and everything works fine!

thanks for every one that tried to help give me good explantions. now iḿ using debian 7 and all is working fine! now i'want to know how i can put resolved in the title of this thread.