const char* chArr1=ByteArray2.constData();

return QString::fromUtf8(chArr1);

}

And the Output is:
"Apple"
"4170706c65"
"A"
"41"

why the "00" is causing the problem there? I want the last line to be "410070706c65"
Sorry but I'm very new to Qt, please help me with the solution and the reason behind the unexpected value.
thanks in advance.

Santosh Reddy
19th July 2013, 21:13
Please specify the platform/Qt Veriosn/ABI (32/64/... bit) information.

ChrisW67
19th July 2013, 23:05
why the "00" is causing the problem there? I want the last line to be "410070706c65"
Sorry but I'm very new to Qt, please help me with the solution and the reason behind the unexpected value.
thanks in advance.
C-strings are terminated by NUL (i.e. '\0') character (nothing to do with Qt). Feeding an array of bytes contain zeroes to any function expecting a C-string (i.e. const char *) will behave this way: this includes the Qt function QString::fromUtf8().

QByteArray is the Qt data type that handles arrays of arbitrary bytes. Your HexToAscii() function is what QByteArray::fromHex() does. Your AsciiToHex() is precisely what QByteArray::toHex() does. All the other stuff you do in those functions is unnecessary and ultimately breaks your expectations.

havoc
20th July 2013, 06:06
thanks you for your responses. ChrisW67, can you show me an example on how I can deal with the NUL? I am basically wanting it for a program which writes(using socket->write() ) the data containing NUL somewhere in the middle of the string, often many NULs inbetween. How can I manage it?

ChrisW67
20th July 2013, 06:34
You use the version of QIODevice::write() that takes a QByteArray or a const char * with a size, and not the version that expects a nul terminated c string. None of this has anything to do with converting bytes to or from hexadecimal.

havoc
20th July 2013, 09:30