PDA

View Full Version : Qt GUI Application

selva kumar
29th July 2013, 07:38
Hi Everybody,
I am new to Qt development.I have to develop a Qt GUI Application with one parent and multiple windows.what i want exactly one main window called home window like one frame which contains home page and menus,controls.when i click a menu,a new panel has to come and remove a home panel and data has to be transfer between panels.i know java swing,thats why i am talking about panels and frames.what is the equivalent of frame and panels in qt.i referred some qt mainwindow examples.i referred layouts.but i couldn't develop anything.i am able to create separate window applications.And i am facing difficulty with layout also.

Anybody help me to develop a GUI Application with multiple panels or windows(i referred MDI also.that is not applicable for me).can u give small applicatin source or what alse i have to do?guide me please...

Qt version: 4.8

anda_skoa
29th July 2013, 08:49
If you want a window to have different content depending on the application state have a look at QStackedWidget.
It is basically a stack of pages and the program decides which page is "on top" and thus visible.

If I remember Swing correctly, a panel is just a container so the euqivalent would be QWidget.
If you need a top level window just pass 0 as the parent argument to the constructor of any QWidget class.

Cheers,
_

selva kumar
31st July 2013, 11:40
Thank you for your reply.

Which is equivalent to component?.because i have to remove old widget,while loading new widget.
I need one home page.so i will make home page as QMainwindow.how do i change home page to next window or widget?.

anda_skoa
1st August 2013, 08:42
I guess the closest thing is QWidget.

But I am not sure why you need to remove something? Conserving memory?

Cheers,
_

selva kumar
5th August 2013, 08:26
I am not going to remove a window.just overriding the new window or hide the old one,show the new one.
how to do it?.

ChrisW67