PDA

View Full Version : QT GraphicsView Help

mistertoony
8th February 2007, 17:12
Hi,

I am an undergraduate developing a simple GUI for plotting curves. I have previously developed the program successfully using Qwt, however I would like to use Qt's GraphicsView to plot the data. However, I have no references on the matter. Or simple examples to learn from. I have read the article, http://doc.trolltech.com/4.2/graphicsview.html, and am still confused on implementing GraphicsView.

Do I need to use this with QPainter? I am utterly lost. Would anyone be able to help me produce a simple example plotting a line graph using GraphicsView? All I need is something simple to get me started. Or if anyone could point me in the direction of a simple example or beginner websites.

Thanks,
Anthony

maxpower
8th February 2007, 18:43
You will need to use QGraphicsView with a QGraphicsScene. You add items to the scene; in your case probably a QGraphicsPathItem. I used QGraphicsView to develop a simple strategy football game and added squares, circles, stars, and pictures using the QGraphicsScene. I can post a simple example if you'd like.

mAx

EDIT: I attached a simple dialog that displays a star.

mistertoony
9th February 2007, 17:25
hey thank you so much. i briefly looked at the example, and it has already helped my understanding of graphicsscene and graphicsview tremendously. i hope to be able to apply this with plotting. do you believe that this is the best technique to plot 2d data?

kitov
10th February 2007, 15:40
Hello people !

maxpower
12th February 2007, 15:50
I have not done a whole lot of real 2d plotting, but my first instinct would be that Qwt would be a better fit. I have used it in the past to create bar graphs and it seems to just make it easier to do the things you could do with a QGraphicsScene/View since it is specific to plotting/graphing.

mAx

mistertoony
12th February 2007, 16:27