PDA

View Full Version : How to Route a Horizontal Slider Value to My Code?

keenanw
14th August 2013, 20:47
Hello, apologies for being a newb, and I hope my question makes sense. I am just starting to learn c++ and qt, and I'm working on a simple midi controlled oscillator with gui using the Synthesis Toolkit (mostly by copying and pasting code). I've run into a snag and I was hoping someone could help me.

I have a (working) horizontal slider and the rest of the code is working too in another Qthread. So everything works, the slider displays, the oscillator makes sound and accepts midi messages. The problem is that I want to work the value of the slider into the code, and I don't know how to do that. The applicable parts of the code are gain.h and gain.cpp, which contain the slider code, and also sine.cpp, which I want to somehow make use of gain.h/gain.cpp. Here is the code, which again I copied and pasted from the internet to get a working slider:

#ifndef LCDRANGE_H
#define LCDRANGE_H

#include <QWidget>

class QSlider;

class Gain : public QWidget
{
Q_OBJECT

public:
Gain(QWidget *parent = 0);

int value() const;

public slots:
void setValue(int value);

signals:
void valueChanged(int newValue);

private:
QSlider *slider;
};

#endif

And here is gain.cpp:

#include <QSlider>
#include <QVBoxLayout>
#include "gain.h"

Gain::Gain(QWidget *parent)
: QWidget(parent)
{

slider = new QSlider(Qt::Horizontal);
slider->setRange(1, 100);
slider->setValue(50);

connect(slider, SIGNAL(valueChanged(int)),
this, SIGNAL(valueChanged(int)));

QVBoxLayout *layout = new QVBoxLayout;
layout->addWidget(slider);
setLayout(layout);
}

int Gain::value() const
{
return slider->value();
}

void Gain::setValue(int value)
{
slider->setValue(value);

}