PDA

View Full Version : Modification of a question

R.ANGEL
25th August 2013, 12:19
HI THERE,

I AM 46 AND PRETTY NEW TO LEARNING ABOUT QT USING C++ SO PARDON ME IF IM A LITTLE SLOW IN PROGRESSING

I HAVE PURCHASED THE TEXTBOOK CALLED "AN INTRODUCTION TO DESIGN PATTERNS IN C++ WITH Qt" AND I WANTED TO STUDY THIS BOOK PROPERLY AND UNDERSTAND AND PROGRAM THE EXERCISES BEFORE TAKING UP A COURSE NEXT YEAR WHICH CAN TEACH ME THE MORE COMPLEX STUFF ABOUT THIS PROGRAMMING CONCEPTS. I HAVE BEEN COPING WELL WITH THE EXERCISES THUS FAR AND HAVE BEEN PRODUCING THE REQUIRED OUTPUTS BUT I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW HOW I CAN MODIFY THE ATTACHED PDF QUESTION(FROM THE TEXTBOOK) :

SO THAT FilmList is replaced by the class FilmMap, which inherits from QMap<QString, Film*> where the film id is the key. I want to re-implement all the functions in FilmList in FilmMap.

how do I do this and how do I write my code to test FilmMap and all its functions.

Please assist as I am very new to this and am studying this book completely for my own indulgement without any help.
I have attached the textbook question on which I base my question

R.ANGEL
26th August 2013, 14:32
does anyone have any knowledge on how to do this, I feel helpless

wysota
26th August 2013, 15:34
What exactly are you having problems with? All you need to do is to adjust the code from operating on QList to operating on QMap.

R.ANGEL
27th August 2013, 07:13
I don't know how to do that though. I have been doing very simple programs so far and I am now moving on to these more complex program, or rather complex for me since I am doing this without guidance. a start would be good please. I am in no rush since I am just playing around with the programs and trying to complete all the textbook examples without looking at the manual answers.

wysota
27th August 2013, 07:29
Do you understand what are the main differences between a list and a map?

R.ANGEL
27th August 2013, 08:17