PDA

View Full Version : Custom Datatypes Causing Undefined Behavior Among Global Variable References

brogrammer
9th September 2013, 03:13
To give you a background, I have developed in C (and some C++ when it's called for) for the past several years, along with x86 assembly (inline and standalone). I am new to Qt and am using QT Creator 5.1 with MinGW compiler (Windows XP/no ASLR). My problem, in summary, is that I cannot use a global variable across different namespaces, as somehow the memory changes its location, even if dynamically allocated. I have tested this problem on another platform (VC++ and Linux/Clang) without using Qt and it works just fine.

The best way I can describe this problem is whenever I am using a user-defined datatype (struct serverUpdateInformation_t) within a namespace (NS_A) function, if I use a different variable of the same type (struct serverUpdateInformation_t) within a namespace (NS_B) which calls NS_A earlier in program flow, the offsets/fields within my struct change. Even using pre-processing directives like #pragma pack... do not work in keeping data uniform within memory.

Needless to say it is frustrating. I am trying to have just one copy of my variable available between "compilation units", but after trying several tricks the best I can get is the variable to have its memory address changed between functions, even though there is no explicit reassignment of the pointer location.

As an aside, these functions are not being compiled with the Q_OBJECT macro in their respective header files. I'm just trying to do "standard" C++, if not standard C. However, other "compilation units" are using the Q_OBJECT macro, which does end up calling some of these functions via my GUI code.

Example:

Assume variable "static serverLoginResponse_t serverLoginResponse" is defined within a "GlobalVARS.h" header file among two or more namespaces with functions which access the same variable.

namespace NS_A
{
int NS_A::RecvUpdateInformation()
{