PDA

View Full Version : WinXP - Newb

Reenen
8th February 2006, 08:04
Hi...

I'm new in all senses. I downloaded the open-source version of Qt. (44mb)

During installation the wizard told me that it can't find MinGW. Tried to install it directly, but my internet is firewalled, so I presume that's why it failed.

What is MinGW? I dunno. I went to www.mingw.org and downloads. There are a great many files. Which do I need? I downloaded those that looked most important. Ie. The win32api, and MSYS.exe.

So I kinda read through the MSYS docs, but I am not sure what to do. I extracted the mingw w32api tarball to c:\msys\1.0\mingw\

Then I retried the Qt installation. So it complained again that it can't find MinGW. What's up? I am really dumb, and I am fumbling in the dark with stuff I dunno.

In the end I want to
1) Experiment with something else than Delphi/Lazarus
2) Create (graphical) software that are available for several platforms
3) - Open source (obviously)

I've done very little C++ programming, but hoping Qt will improve that. :)

Regards
Reenen

high_flyer
8th February 2006, 11:32
There is a Qt bundle that comes with MinGW and it installs both Qt and MinGW.
qt-win-opensource-4.1.0-mingw.exe (http://www.trolltech.com/download.html?target=ftp://ftp.trolltech.com/qt/source/qt-win-opensource-4.1.0-mingw.exe)
MinGW is a compiler.

Cesar
8th February 2006, 13:05
There is a Qt bundle that comes with MinGW
Unfortunately you aren't right, there's no such a bundle. qt-win-opensource-4.1.0-mingw.exe is just a QT bundle, which can donwload and install MinGW for you. See also 95.
MinGW's packaging system isn't straightforward, indeed. The files needed to start using MinGW are shattered among lots of packages.