PDA

View Full Version : need advice on gui thread

dpn
15th September 2013, 07:46
Hi all,

I am new to Qt/QThread.

What is the best way to handle Worker thread in GUI thread. Qt has GUI/Worker thread concepts?

I have to show progress on GUI while copying folder. Can somebody suggest in brief. It should allow to quit the program whenever I want to quit the application from context menu option.

Thanks

ChrisW67
15th September 2013, 10:44
There is no need for threads to display progress while you copy files. Have a look at QProgressBar: connect a signal emitted as files are copied to the setValue() slot of QProgressBar.

You can quit the program at any time by connecting a signal to qApp's quit() slot (see QCoreApplication::quit()).

anda_skoa
15th September 2013, 11:37
The program might need a thread to do the copying, e.g. if QFile::copy() should be used because that one is blocking.

In any case progress reporting works the same way: the code that copies emits progress signals, which are connected to a progress bar or progress dialog.

Cheers,
_

dpn
15th September 2013, 16:54
Hi,

I have goggled for qt worker threads. I am new to Qt. I found three kinds of implementations.

1. Inherit worker class from QThread and override Run()
2. Create QThread object as member variable of worker class
3. make it as a thread by using movetothread.

In which scenario, I have to use 1st approach. If possible, plz explain about other approaches.

Thanks in advance.

toufic.dbouk
15th September 2013, 17:10
class Worker : public QObject {
Q_OBJECT

public:
worker()//constructor
public slots:
void process(); // do your work here

signals:
void finished(); // emit when done
};

and connect it in a way similar to this:

QThread* thread = new QThread;
Worker* worker = new Worker();
worker->moveToThread(thread);
connect(thread, SIGNAL(started()), worker, SLOT(process()));
connect(worker, SIGNAL(finished()), thread, SLOT(quit()));